Major Sports Stadiums of India and their Locations:

Sports Grounds (Stadium): Almost every state in India has a playground. There are mostly cricket grounds in India, where cricket matches are played. The Eden Garden Stadium in Kolkata city is one of the best ground in India, it is called the pride of Kolkata in a way and it is also very famous at the international level.The Eden Gardens Cricket Stadium (Madan) in Kolkata is the largest and oldest stadium in India. It was constructed in 1865. Its audience capacity is up to 70 thousand people. Melbourne Cricket Stadium located in Melbourne, Australia is the largest cricket stadium in the world, its spectator capacity is around one lakh people. Sports are of great importance in India and children play this game with great fervor in the streets of the country, from gilli sticks to cricket. Along with this, many big international sporting competitions have been organized in India recently such as ICC Cricket World Cup in 2011, Commonwealth Games in 2010 and T20 World Cup in the year 2016. Let us know which game is played in which ground of India and where is it located.

List of major sports grounds (stadiums) in India:

Stadium Name Location Related Sports
Wankhede Stadium Mumbai, Maharashtra Cricket
HPCA Stadium Dharamsala, Himachal Pradesh Cricket
Arun Jaitley Stadium Delhi, New Delhi Cricket
Eden Gardens Stadium Kolkata, West Bengal Cricket
M.A. Chidambaram Stadium Chennai, Tamil Nadu Cricket
Gymkhana Ground Mumbai, Maharashtra Cricket
JSCA Stadium Ranchi, Jharkhand Cricket
Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium Rajkot, Gujarat Cricket
Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium Pune, Maharashtra Cricket
Dr. D. Y. Patil Stadium Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra Football and Cricket
New VCA Stadium Nagpur, Maharashtra Cricket
Holkar Cricket Stadium Indore, Madhya Pradesh Cricket
Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh Cricket
Dr. Y. s. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA VDCA Stadium Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh Cricket
Indira Gandhi Stadium Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh Cricket
Barkatullah Khan Stadium Jodhpur, Rajasthan Used mostly for cricket
Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Kochi, Kerala Multipurpose
IPCL Sports Stadium Vadodara, Gujarat Cricket
K. D. Singh Babu Stadium Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh Multipurpose
Fatorda Stadium Margao, Goa Football and Cricket
Maulana Azad Stadium Jammu, Jammu and Kashmir Cricket
Indira Priyadarshini Stadium Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh Cricket
Roop Singh Stadium Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh Cricket
Nahar Singh Stadium Faridabad, Haryana Cricket
Madhavrao Scindia Stadium Rajkot, Gujarat Cricket
Sector 16 Stadium Chandigarh, Chandigarh Cricket
Nehru Stadium Pune, Maharashtra Cricket (Multipurpose)
University Stadium Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala Football (Multipurpose)
Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium Delhi, Delhi Multipurpose
Keenan Stadium Jamshedpur, Jharkhand Football and Cricket
Sardar Patel Stadium Ahmedabad, Gujarat Cricket
Moti Bagh Stadium Vadodara, Gujarat Cricket
Sher-i-Kashmir Stadium Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir Cricket
Sawai Mansingh Stadium Jaipur, Rajasthan Cricket
Gandhi Sports Complex Stadium Amritsar, Punjab Currently Used for Cricket
Barabati Stadium Cuttack, Orissa Cricket
M. Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore, Karnataka Cricket
Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium Nagpur, Maharashtra Cricket
Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh Cricket
Green Park Stadium Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh Cricket
Brabourne Stadium Mumbai, Maharashtra Cricket
Guru Gobind Singh Stadium Nanded, Maharashtra Cricket
Fort Stadium Palakkad, Kerala Football
Dilip Tirkey Stadium Ranchi, Jharkhand Hockey
Birsa Munda Stadium Ranchi, Jharkhand Hockey
Kalinga Stadium Bhubaneshwar, Orissa Hockey
Mahindra Stadium Mumbai, Maharashtra Hockey
Dhyan Chand Astroturf Stadium Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh Hockey
Dadaji Kondadev Stadium Thane, Maharashtra Football
Guru Nanak Stadium Ludhiana, Punjab Football
Greenfield Stadium Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala Cricket
Bharat Ratna Atal Bihari Vajpayee (Ekana) International Cricket Stadium Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh Cricket

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Sports Grounds of India GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Sports Grounds of India FAQs:

Sachin Tendulkar scored his much-awaited 100th international century at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh. He achieved this feat on 16 March 2012 during an Asia Cup match against Bangladesh.

Green Park Stadium is a 32,000 capacity floodlit multi-purpose stadium located in Kanpur, India. The stadium is under the control of the Sports Department of Uttar Pradesh.

Kingsmead is a cricket ground in Durban, South Africa. The ground is a famous cricket stadium and hosts important international matches in world cricket.

Virender Sehwag scored his first double century in the year 2011 in an ODI match at Indore. He became the second batsman to score a double century in ODI matches. He scored 219 against the West Indies at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore.

The playing field in golf is called the golf course. Each golf course consists of 18 holes, of which the first nine are called the front nine and the rest are called the back nine.

  Last update :  Fri 29 Jul 2022
  Post Views :  18186
  Post Category :  Other Sports Information