The Chief Minister of Meghalaya is the head of the Indian state of Meghalaya. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. Following elections to the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, the state governor usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Meghalaya's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterConrad Sangma
Political partyNational People's Party (NPP)
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date06 March 2018
First Chief MinisterWilliamson A. sangma

Current Chief Minister of Meghalaya 2023

Conrad Kongkal Sangma is an Indian politician who is the 12th and current Chief Minister of Meghalaya since 2018. He is a member of the National People's Party. He represents the South Tura constituency since 2018 and the Selsela constituency from 2008 to 2013. Sangma was also the Minister of Finance, Power and Tourism of the Government of Meghalaya from 2008 to 2009. He is the former leader of opposition in the Meghalaya Assembly. He also served as the National President of the Nationalist Youth Congress.

History of Chief Minister of Meghalaya

12 people have served as Chief Minister of Meghalaya since 1970. Williamson A. Sangma was the first Chief Minister of Meghalaya who served from 1970 to 1972. Chief Minister Mukul Sangma has been the longest serving Chief Minister for 8 years. The current Chief Minister of Meghalaya is Conrad Sangma of the National People's Party, who has been in office since 6 March 2018.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Meghalaya (1972-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Meghalaya CM from 1972 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of chief ministerDischargeDischargeParty/political party
Williamson A. sangma02 April 197021 January 1972All Party Hill Leaders Conference
21 January 197218 March 1972
18 March 197221 November 1976
22 November 197603 March 1978Indian National Congress
Darwin Deangdo Pugh10 March 197821 February 1979All Party Hill Leaders Conference
21 February 197906 May 1979
B. B. Lyngdoh07 May 197907 May 1981
Williamson A. Sangma07 May 198124 February 1983Indian National Congress
B. B. Lyngdoh02 March 198331 March 1983All Party Hill Leaders Conference
Williamson A Sangma02 April 198305 February 1988Indian National Congress
P. A. Sangma06 February 198825 March 1990
B. B. Lyngdoh26 March 199010 October 1991Hill People Union (HPU)

President's Rule (11 October 1991 to 05 February 1992)

DD Lapang05 February 199219 February 1993Indian National Congress
S.C. antidote19 February 1993
27 February 1998
27 February 1998

10 March 1998
B. B. Lyngdoh10 March 199808 March 2000United Democratic Party
A.K. Mawlong08 March 200008 December 2001
Flinder Anderson Khonglam08 December 200104 March 2003Independent
DD Lapang04 March 200315 June 2006Indian National Congress
JD rembai15 june 200610 march 2007
DD Lapang10 March 200704 March 2008
04 March 200819 March 2008
Donkupar Roy19 March 200818 March 2009United Democratic Party

President's rule (from 18 March 2009 to 12 May 2009)

DD Lapang13 May 200919 April 2010Indian National Congress
Mukul Sangma20 April 201005 March 2013
05 March 201305 March 2018
Conrad Sangma06 March 2018PresentNational People's Party (NPP)

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  13857
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States