In the Republic of India, each of the 28 States and 02 Union territories (Delhi and Puducherry) is headed by a chief minister. According to the Indian Constitution, the Governor is the legal head at the state level but in reality the executive authority is the Chief Minister. After state legislative assembly elections, the governor usually invites the majority party (or coalition) to form the government.

List of current Chief Ministers of all 28 Indian states 2024

State Name Name of the Chief Minister Name of political party
Andhra Pradesh Jagan Mohan Reddy Y. S. R. Congress Party (YSRCP)
Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu People's Party of Arunachal
Assam Himanta Biswa Sarma Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Bihar Nitish Kumar Janata Dal (United)
Chhattisgarh Vishnu Dev Sai Bharatiya Janata Party
Delhi Arvind Kejriwal Aam Aadmi Party
Goa Pramod Sawant Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Gujarat Bhupendrabhai Patel Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Himachal Pradesh Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu Indian National Congress
Jharkhand Champai Soren
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
Karnataka Siddaramaiah Indian National Congress
Kerala Pinarai Vijayan Marxist Communist Party
Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chouhan Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Maharashtra Eknath ShindeShiv Sena
Manipur N. Biren Singh Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Meghalaya Conrad Sangma National People's Party (NPP)
Mizoram Lalduhoma Zoram People's Movement
Nagaland Nephew Rio National Democratic People's Party (NDPP)
Odisha Naveen Patnaik Biju Janata Dal
Puducherry (U.T.) Nadesan Krishnasamy Rangasamy Indian National Congress
Punjab Bhagwant Singh MannAam Aadmi Party
Rajasthan Bhajan Lal SharmaBharatiya Janata Party
Sikkim Prem Singh Tamang Sikkim Revolutionary Front
Tamil Nadu Muthuvel Karunanidhi Stalin Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Telangana Anumula Revanth Reddy Indian National Congress
Tripura Manik Saha Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Uttarakhand Pushkar Singh Dhami (4th July 2021) Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
West Bengal Mamata Banerjee All India Trinamool Congress

How the Chief Minister is appointed in India?

The Chief Minister is appointed by the Governor under Article 163 of the Constitution of India. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister either after the general election or when his office becomes vacant due to the resignation or dismissal of the Chief Minister. In the general election, if only one party gets a majority in the Legislative Assembly and there is an elected leader of that party, then it is the constitutional obligation of the Governor to appoint him to the post of Chief Minister.

If the Chief Minister resigns due to internal differences of his party, the newly elected leader of that party is appointed to the post of Chief Minister.

What are the Qualifications required for post of Chief Minister in India?

No qualification has been prescribed in the Constitution for the post of Chief Minister, but it is necessary for the Chief Minister to be a member of the State Legislative Assembly. Thus the Chief Minister should have the qualifications of a member of the State Legislative Assembly.

A person who is not a member of the State Legislative Assembly can also be appointed to the post of Chief Minister, but for this it is necessary that he should be elected a member of the State Legislative Assembly within 6 months. According to a decision of the Supreme Court on September 21, 2001, a convict will be considered ineligible for the post of Chief Minister.

Duties and Powers of Chief Minister in India

  • He is the de facto head of the governance of the State and as such he advises the Governor on the selection of his Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries, the distribution and discharge of their portfolios and the appointment of the Chairman and other members of the Public Service Commission and the Advocate General and other important office bearers. Is.
  • Orders for the transfer of civilian officials in the state are issued on the orders of the Chief Minister and he decides on the matters related to the policy of the state.
  • He represents the state in the National Development Council.
  • The Chief Minister presides over the meeting of the Council and follows the principle of collective responsibility. If a member of the Council of Ministers has a different opinion than the policies of the Council of Ministers, the Chief Minister asks him to resign or the Governor can recommend his dismissal.
  • He informs the Governor about all the proposals related to the administration and legislation of the state.
  • If a member of the Council of Ministers has taken a decision on any matter alone, he may, at the instance of the Governor, place that decision before the Council of Ministers for consideration.
  • He advises the governor to dissolve the assembly.

In which two situations the Chief Minister can be dismissed in India?

Normally, the Chief Minister remains in office as long as he receives a vote of confidence in the Legislative Assembly. Therefore, as soon as his majority in the assembly is exhausted, he should resign. If he does not resign, the Governor can dismiss him. Apart from this, the Chief Minister can be dismissed in the following situations:-

  • If the Governor advises the Chief Minister to convene a meeting of the Legislative Assembly and prove the majority in it, and if the Chief Minister is not ready to convene the meeting of the Legislative Assembly within the period prescribed by the Governor, the Governor can dismiss the Chief Minister.
  • If the Governor reports to the President under Article 356 that the Government of the State cannot be carried on in accordance with the Constitution, or the President is satisfied from other sources that the Government cannot be carried on in accordance with the provisions of the Constitution, the President may expel the
  • Chief Minister of the State. Can direct the Governor to run the administration of
    When a resolution against the Chief Minister is passed in the State Legislative Assembly and the Chief Minister refuses to resign, the Governor can dismiss the Chief Minister.

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Chief Minister GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Chief Ministers of States FAQs:

Bharatiya Janata Party fielded country's first woman IPS officer Kiran Bedi as its chief ministerial candidate in Delhi.

Former Gujarat BJP President Vijay Rupani was elected as the next Chief Minister of Gujarat on 04 August 2016.

Nitish Kumar was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Bihar for the fifth time on 20 November 2015.

Vibhadra Singh was appointed as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand on 1 February 2014.

Sucheta Kriplani was an Indian freedom fighter and politician. She became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and was the first woman Chief Minister of India. She was the wife of the famous Gandhian leader Acharya Kriplani.

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  21212
  Post Category :  Ministers of Government of India