The Chief Minister of Tripura is the head of the Government of Tripura. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor of Tripura is the legal head of state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Tripura Legislative Assembly, the Governor usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Tripura's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterManik Saha
Political partyBharatiya Janata Party
Term of office5 years
Oath taking dateMay 15, 2022
First Chief MinisterSachindra Lal Singh

Current Chief Minister of Tripura 2023

Manik Saha is an Indian politician serving as the 11th and current Chief Minister of Tripura since 2022. He represents the Town Bordowali Assembly constituency in the Tripura Legislative Assembly from 2022. He is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party since 2016 and the Indian National Congress before 2016. He became the President of Bharatiya Janata Party, Tripura unit from 2020 to 2022. He is one of the richest Chief Ministers of India, from the state in which he was the poorest Chief Minister of India.

History of Chief Minister of Tripura

Tripura has had eleven Chief Ministers since 1963. Sachindra Lal Singh was the first Chief Minister of Tripura who served from 1963 to 1971. Manik Sarkar of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) served as the Chief Minister of Tripura from 1998 to 2018. His reign was the longest in the state's history. Currently there is Manik Saha, who has replaced Biplab Kumar Deb from the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Tripura (1963-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Tripura CM from 1963 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of the Chief MinisterDischargeDischargeParty/political party
Sachindra Lal Singh01 July 196301 November 1971Indian National Congress

President's rule (from 01 November 1971 to 20 March 1972)

Sukhmoy Sen Gupta20 March 197231 March 1977Indian National Congress
Prafulla Kumar Das01 April 197725 July 1977Congress for Democracy
Radhika Ranjan Gupta26 July 197704 November 1977Janata Party

President's Rule (05 November 1977 to 05 January 1978)

Nripen Chakraborty05 January 197805 February 1988Marxist Communist Party
Sudhir Ranjan Majumdar05 February 198819 February 1992Indian National Congress
Sameer Ranjan Burman19 February 199210 March 1993

President's Rule (11 March 1993 to 10 April 1993)

Dasrath Deb10 April 199311 March 1998Marxist Communist Party
Manik Sarkar11 March 199808 March 2018
Biplab Dev09 March 201814 May 2022Bharatiya Janata Party
Manik Saha15 May 2022In current

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  13676
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States