The Chief Minister of Delhi is the head of the Delhi Government and Council of Ministers and the leader of the majority party in the Delhi Assembly. The Chief Minister heads the executive branch of the Delhi government. After elections to the Delhi Assembly, the Lieutenant Governor usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The President of India, on the advice of the Lieutenant Governor, appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Delhi's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current chief ministerArvind Kejriwal
Political PartyAam Aadmi Party
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date16th February, 2020
First Chief MinisterChaudhary Brahm Prakash

Current Chief Minister of Delhi 2023

Arvind Kejriwal is an Indian politician, activist and former bureaucrat who served as the 7th and current Chief Minister of Delhi from 2015 to 2013 and from 2013 to 2014. He is the national convenor of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). He started Aam Aadmi Party in 2012. Kejriwal contested the 2014 Indian general election. He lost to BJP's Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi. In the 2015 Delhi Assembly elections, Aam Aadmi Party won 67 out of 70 seats. Arvind Kejriwal was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Delhi for the second time on 14 February 2015. He won the Time 100 Readers' Poll in 2014. Aam Aadmi Party shared seats with the Indian National Congress for the 2019 general elections.

History of Chief Minister of Delhi

Since 1952, there have been 7 Chief Ministers in the National Capital Territory of Delhi, the first Chief Minister of Delhi was Chaudhary Brahm Prakash of the Indian National Congress party. After this, Madan Lal Khurana of Bharatiya Janata Party took over the post of Chief Minister. Sheila Dikshit served as the Chief Minister of Delhi for the longest period of 15 years and 25 days from December 1998 to 28 December 2013. Sushma Swaraj was the first woman Chief Minister of Delhi. The current Chief Minister of Delhi is Arvind Kejriwal. He is working on this post again from 16 February 2020.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Delhi (1952-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Delhi CM from 1952 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Serial No.Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freePolitical party
1Chaudhary Brahm Prakash19521955Indian National Congress
2G N Singh19551956Indian National Congress

State ceased to exist and became a Centrally Administered Union Territory (1956 - 1993)

3Madan Lal Khurana19931996Bharatiya Janata Party
4Sahib Singh Verma19961997Bharatiya Janata Party
5Sushma Swaraj19971998Bharatiya Janata Party
6Sheila Dikshit19982003Indian National Congress
6Sheila Dikshit20032008Indian National Congress
6Sheila Dikshit20082013Indian National Congress
7Arvind Kejriwal28 December 201314 February 2014Aam Aadmi Party

President's Rule (17 February 2014 to 13 February 2015)

7Arvind KejriwalFebruary 14, 2015February, 2020Aam Aadmi Party
7Arvind KejriwalFebruary 15, 2015So farAam Aadmi Party

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  13055
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States