The Chief Minister of Mizoram is the chief executive of the Indian state of Mizoram. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. Following elections to the Mizoram Legislative Assembly, the state governor usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Mizoram's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterLalduhoma
Political partyZoram People's Movement
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date8 December 2023
First Chief MinisterL. Chal Changa

Current Chief Minister of Mizoram 2023

Lalduhoma is an Indian politician and former Indian Police Service officer, Lalduhoma was sworn in as the sixth Chief Minister of Mizoram on 8 December 2023. He announced that farmers would be the main priority for his government, and the new government would purchase ginger, turmeric, chilli and broomsticks from farmers. Lalduhoma is the founder and president of the Zoram Nationalist Party, a regional political party in Mizoram. His party joined the coalition party Zoram People's Movement, in which he was selected as the first chief ministerial candidate in the 2018 Mizoram Legislative Assembly election. He was elected from Aizawl West I and Serchhip constituencies, and chose to represent Serchhip from 2018.

While serving as the leader of the legislature's opposition, he was disqualified as a member of the Legislative Assembly on charges of violating the anti-defection law. The case became the first in state legislatures in India in 2020. He was re-elected from the same Serchhip constituency in a by-election in 2021. In the 2023 Mizoram Legislative Assembly election, ZPM was elected with an overwhelming majority, defeating the ruling MNF.

History of Chief Minister of Mizoram

Six people have served as Chief Minister of Mizoram since 1972. The first Chief Minister of Mizoram was C. Chunga who held the post from 1972 to 1977. PU Lal Thanhawla of the Congress Party is the longest serving Chief Minister, having served for more than 21 years in 5 years. The current incumbent is Lalduhoma of the Zoram People's Movement who assumed office on 8 December 2023.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Mizoram (1972-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Mizoram CM from 1972 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of chief ministerDischargeDischargeParty/political party
L. Chal Changa03 May 197210 May 1977Mizo Union

President's Rule (11 May 1977 to 01 June 1978)

Tenfunga salio02 June 197810 November 1978Mizo People's Conference

President's rule (from 10 November 1978 to 08 May 1979)

Tenfunga Salio08 May 197904 May 1984Mizo People's Conference
P. Lal Thanhawla05 May 198420 August 1986Indian National Congress
Pu Laldenga21 August 198607 September 1988Mizo National Front

President's Rule (07 September 1988 to 24 January 1989)

P. Lal Thanhawla24 January 198903 December 1998Indian National Congress
Pu Zoramthanga03 December 199811 December 2008Mizo National Front
Lal Thanhawla11 December 200811 December 2013Indian National Congress
Lal Thanhawla11 December 201312 December 2018Indian National Congress
Zoramthanga15 December 20187 December 2023Indian National Congress
Lalduhoma8 December 2023CurrentZoram People's Movement

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  15267
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States