54th International Film Festival of India

The 54th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) began with a grand opening ceremony on 20 November 2023 at the Dr. Syama Prasad Mukherjee Indoor Stadium in Panaji, Goa. Union Minister for Information & Broadcasting (I&B), Youth Affairs and Sports Anurag Singh Thakur met Goa Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant, Minister of State (MoS) for Information & Broadcasting Dr. L. Minister of State for Tourism met Murugan and inaugurated the nine-day festival.

The 54th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) is one of the most important film festivals, showcasing the best of world cinema. The festival provides a platform for both established and emerging filmmakers to share their exceptional work with a global audience. With a diverse selection of films and programmes, IFFI is committed to celebrating the art of cinema and promoting cultural exchange.

The festival, now in its seventh decade, showcases a wide variety of films from India and around the world. In its 54th edition, IFFI is screening over 270 films from 105 countries. The festival is being organized from 20th to 28th November at four locations. The inauguration ceremony hosted by Karishma Tanna and Aparshakti Khurana on 20 November 2023 was telecast live on Colors TV and JioCinema. More than 270 films from 105 countries are shown in this edition. Madhuri Dixit was honored with the 'Special Recognition for Contribution to Indian Cinema' award at the festival.

IFFI has also introduced the Best Web Series (OTT) Awards in its latest edition to acknowledge and encourage India's thriving streaming sector. Panchayat Season 2, Humans, Nirmal Pathak Ki Ghar Wapsi and Rocket Boys Season 2 are the four shows competing in this category. Popular Indian filmmaker Rajkumari Hirani heads the jury for the OTT awards.

Award Category

  • This year a new award category 'Best Web Series (OTT)' award has been introduced at the festival. 32 entries in 10 languages from 15 over-the-top media service platforms have been selected for this award.
  • This year, a total of 15 feature films, including three Indian titles, are competing for the festival's top prize, the Golden Peacock Award. Veteran filmmaker Shekhar Kapur chairs the international jury, which also includes Spanish cinematographer Jose Luis Alcaine and international producers Jérôme Paillard, Catherine Dussart and Helen Leek.

  Last update :  20 November 2023
  News Category :  Awards
  Post Category :  November 2023