The Football World Cup is organized every 04 years by the Federation Internationale de Football Association ie FIFA, its headquarters is in Switzerland. It is an international football competition contested by the men's national teams of 32 countries. The current winner of this tournament is Argentina who won the FIFA World Cup 2022 held in Qatar.

Brief Description of FIFA World Cup:

Organizer Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA)
Establishment 1930
Total Team (Team) 32 (currently)
Current winner Argentina
Most successful team (Brazil won 5 times)

History of FIFA Football World Cup:

This tournament, played every 4 years, was started in 1930. In the first edition of the year 1930, the host nation Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2 to win the first FIFA World Cup title. Due to World War II, this tournament could not be organized in the years 1942 and 1946. From 1934 to 1978, 16 teams took part in this tournament. But in 1938 and 1950, 15 and 13 teams took part respectively. In 1982 the number of participating teams was increased to 24. Whereas in 1998, 32 teams were allowed to play in the tournament.

The FIFA World Cup tournament has been organized 21 times since the year 1930 till now (2022). Brazil has won the FIFA World Cup the most times 5 times and is the only team to participate in each tournament. Italy (4), Germany (4), Argentina (3) and Uruguay (2) have won this title. Argentina, Uruguay, England and Spain have won the title once each. On the other hand, the Netherlands has failed to win the title three times by making it to the final match.

The World Cup is one of the most widely watched sporting events in the world, with an estimated 71,51,00,000 people watching the final match of the 2006 FIFA World Cup held in Germany.

Information about FIFA World Cup 2022 Winners:

The FIFA World Cup was played in the year 2022 in which Argentina won by defeating France in the final. And with this, Argentina won the FIFA World Cup for the third time. It was scheduled by the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) as the 22nd edition.

In 2018, the FIFA World Cup was held in Russia where France won the FIFA World Cup by defeating Russia. In addition, the tournament will be a sport involving 32 teams, with an increase to 48 teams scheduled for the 2026 tournament in the United States, Mexico and Canada.

List of FIFA World Cup winners (1930-2022):

Event year Host country The winner Runner up
2022 Qatar Argentina France
2021 Zurich, Switzerland Poland Argentina
2018 Russia France Croatia
2014 Brazil Germany Argentina
2010 South Africa Spain Netherlands
2006 Germany Italy France
2002 South Korea, Japan Brazil Germany
1998 France France Brazil
1994 United States Brazil Italy
1990 Italy West Germany Argentina
1986 Mexico Argentina West Germany
1982 Spain Italy West Germany
1978 Argentina Argentina Netherlands
1974 West Germany West Germany Netherlands
1970 Mexico Brazil Italy
1966 England England West Germany
1962 Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia
1958 Sweden Brazil Sweden
1954 Switzerland West Germany Hungary
1950 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
1946 Canceled (2nd world war) - -
1942 Canceled (2nd world war) - -
1938 France Italy Hungary
1934 Italy Italy Czechoslovakia
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Fifa Football World Cup GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Fifa World Cup FAQs:

Indian football club East Bengal won the Calcutta Football League-2016 title for the seventh consecutive time on 16 September 2016. East Bengal beat Mohammedan Sporting 1-0 at the Kalyani Stadium.

The 2018 FIFA Best Men's Player of the Year award was won by Luka Modrić. Modrić, a Croatian midfielder, had an exceptional year in 2018, playing a crucial role in guiding Croatia to the FIFA World Cup final and winning the UEFA Champions League with his club, Real Madrid.

The 2014 FIFA World Cup was the 20th FIFA World Cup, a quadrennial world championship for men's national football teams organized by FIFA. Colombia qualifies for the World Cup after 16 years of absence.

On 9 July 2014, FIFA suspended the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) from all international football competitions. The suspension was a result of government interference in the NFF's affairs.

The total duration of a football match is 90 minutes. In a football match, there is a break after 45 minutes of play. In this way a match is played in two parts of 45 minutes each.

  Last update :  Fri 1 Sep 2023
  Post Views :  21501
  Post Category :  International Sports Events