Hockey World Cup Winners List:

The Hockey World Cup is an international field hockey competition administered by the International Hockey Federation (FIH). The Hockey World Cup competition was started in 1971. The first two competitions were held at an interval of two years, but later this interval was reduced to four years. So now this competition is organized every four years after 1975.

Important facts related to Hockey:

  • Pakistan holds the record for most goals in a single World Cup. He scored 38 goals in the 1982 World Cup in Mumbai. Australia has won 51 matches in the World Cup, which is a world record.
  • So far 24 teams have participated in the Hockey World Cup, out of which only Germany, India, Netherlands and Spain have participated in each World Cup.
  • Most of the times Pakistan has won the World Cup (four times).
  • India had won only one World Cup in the year 1975.
  • Major Dhyanchand, an Indian hockey player, is called the "magician of hockey".
  • India won the first gold medal of hockey in the year 1928 AD Olympic Games.
  • Hockey is the national sport of India.
  • India last won the hockey gold medal at the Olympic Games in 1980 in Moscow.
2023 Hockey World Cup (Men):

The 2023 Men's Hockey World Cup was the 15th edition of the men's FIH Hockey World Cup, the world championship organized by the International Hockey Federation. It was held in India from 13 to 29 January 2023 at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and the Biju Patnaik Hockey Stadium in Rourkela. After the match ended 3–3 in regular time, Germany defeated eventual champions Belgium 5–4 in a shoot-out to win their third title. The Netherlands won the bronze medal with a 3–1 win against Australia.

Hockey World Cup Winners List 1971-2023 :
Year 1st Winner 2nd Winner Host
2023 Germany Belgium Bhubaneswar and Rourkela, India
2018 Belgium Netherlands Odisha, India
2014 Australia Netherlands The Hague, Netherlands
2010 Australia Germany New Delhi, India
2006 Germany Australia Mönchengladbach, Germany
2002 Germany Australia Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1998 Netherlands Spain Utrecht, Netherlands
1994 Pakistan Netherlands Sydney, Australia
1990 Netherlands Pakistan Lahore, Pakistan
1986 Australia England London, England
1982 Pakistan West Germany Mumbai, India
1978 Pakistan Netherlands Buenos Aires, Argentina
1975 India Pakistan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1973 Netherlands India Amstelven, Netherlands
1971 Pakistan Spain Barcelona, Spain

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Hockey World Cup GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:


The Hockey Champions Trophy 2018 title held in the Netherlands was won by the team of Australia.

The 2018 tournament was held in London, England from 21 July to 5 August, with the Netherlands winning their second consecutive title and setting a record eighth title by defeating Ireland 6–0 in the final.

The 2018 Men's Hockey World Cup was the 14th edition of the Hockey World Cup, held from 28 November to 16 December 2018 in Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India. Belgium won the competition for the first time, defeating the Netherlands 3–2 in a penalty shoot-out after a 0–0 draw in the final.

The 2013 tournament was held in India from 2 to 17 November 2013. Germany beat France 5–2 to win the final for a record 6th time. France won their first medal at the tournament by winning silver after losing to Germany.

Australia won the 2016 Champions Trophy men's hockey tournament by defeating India in the final in London. The tournament was held in London, United Kingdom from 10 to 17 June 2016.

  Last update :  Fri 10 Mar 2023
  Post Views :  18307
  Post Category :  International Sports Events