What is AIBA?

The International Boxing Association (AIBA) is a non-profit international organization founded in 1946 by the Fédération Internationale de Boxe Amateur.

History of The International Boxing Association:

The AIBA World Boxing Championships and AIBA Women's World Boxing Championships are biennial boxing competitions organized by the International Boxing Association (AIBA), with the Olympic boxing programme, the sport being the highest level of competition. The boxing championship was first held in 1974 in Havana, Cuba as a men's only event, and the first women's championship was held 25 years later in 2001.

Objective of The International Boxing Association:

The International Boxing Federation sport works on behalf of all levels of boxing to strengthen youth and elite boxing and to create new opportunities for semi-pro boxers. AIBA's approach to boxing follows Olympic values. With these values, AIBA aims to ensure the highest level of transparent standards in our global competitions, rankings, judging and remuneration of boxers.

Brief Description of the 2019 AIBA World Boxing Championship:

The venue Ekaterinburg Expo
Place Yekaterinburg, Russia
Date 9 September 2019 to 21 September 2019
Competitor 365 competitors from 78 countries

List of 2019 AIBA World Boxing Championship winners:

Event Gold Silver Bronze
Flyweight Competition Shakhobidin Zoirov (Uzbekistan) Amit Panghal (India) Bilal Benama (France) and Saken Bibosinov (Kazakhstan)
Featherweight competition Mirzizbek Mirzakhilov (Uzbekistan) Lazaro lvrez (Cuba) Erdenebetin Tsendbaatar (Mongolia) and Peter McGrill (England)
Lightweight Competition Andy Cruz (Cuba) Kishavan Davies (United States) Manish Kaushik (India) and Hovhannes Bachkov (Armenia)
Welterweight competition Andrey Zamkovy (Russia) Pat McCormack (England) Ablakhan Zusupov (Kazakhstan) and Bobo-Yusmon Baturov (Uzbekistan)
Middleweight competition Gleb Bakshi (Russia) Yumir Mariel (Philippines) Hebert Konsiko (Brazil) and Tursenbe Kulkhmet (Kazakhstan)
Light Heavyweight Competition Bekuzad Nurdoletov (Kazakhstan) Dilshodbek Ruzmetov (Uzbekistan) Julio Cesar La Cruz (Cuba) and Benjamin Whitaker (England)
Heavyweight Competition Muslim Gadzimmagomedov (Russia) Julio Castillo (Ecuador, Ecuador) Radoslav Pantalev (Bulgaria) and Vasily Levit (Kazakhstan)
Super Heavyweight Competition Bakhodir Jalolov (Uzbekistan) Kamashbek Kunkabayev (Kazakhstan) Maksim Babin (Russia) and Justice Huni (Australia)

Read also:

  Last update :  Thu 30 Mar 2023
  Post Views :  6126
  Post Category :  International Sports Events