Three great players in cricket history have been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. These include Indian opener Virender Sehwag, former Indian women's Test captain Diana Edulji and former Sri Lankan batsman Aravinda de Silva. All the players involved in this have made their mark in cricket.

ICC Cricket Hall of Fame

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame was launched on 2 January 2009 in collaboration with the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA) as part of the ICC's centenary celebrations. The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame recognizes the achievements of great players of the game from cricket's long and illustrious history.

Virender Sehwag

Sehwag, counted among the destructive opening batsmen of modern cricket, has achieved many big achievements in his career. He is the first Indian player to score a triple century in Test. Sehwag scored triple centuries twice in Tests. During his illustrious career he scored 23 Test centuries. He is at fifth place among Indian players in terms of scoring most centuries in this format.

Sehwag's career

Sehwag's highest score in Test is 319 runs. This is the highest score by an Indian in Test. Sehwag scored 319 runs against South Africa in Chennai in 2008. Overall, Sehwag has 8586 runs in 104 Test matches. He has scored runs at an average of 49.34. Sehwag has scored 8273 runs in 251 ODI matches at an average of 35.05. He is a member of the team that won the T20 World Cup in 2007 and the ODI World Cup in 2011. Sehwag scored 380 runs in the 2011 World Cup.

Diana Edulji

Diana Edulji played a total of 54 matches for India between 1976 and 1993. In these he took more than 100 wickets. The total of 54 matches includes 20 test matches. In these he scored 404 runs and took 63 wickets. He has scored 211 runs and taken 46 wickets in 34 ODI matches. After this she has been a cricket administrator in Western Railways.

Edulji said, "First of all I would like to thank the ICC and the jury for choosing me to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame 2023. It is indeed a great honor to be the first Indian woman cricketer to be inducted. This is the BCCI And a big honor for India. It's also a proud moment for women's cricket."

Arvind de Silva

The third player inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame is Aravinda de Silva, who won the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup with Sri Lanka in 1996. The Sri Lankan batsman was known for his consistency. He scored 20 Test centuries during an international career spanning 18 years. His expertise with the bat was not limited to the red ball format. He has 11 centuries to his name in white ball cricket. Aravinda de Silva scored 6361 runs in 93 test matches at an average of 42.97. In ODI cricket, he participated in 308 matches and scored 9284 runs at an average of 34.90.

  Last update :  13 November 2023
  News Category :  Sports
  Post Category :  November 2023