Kerala Award 2023 Winners

The Government of Kerala announced the 2023 Kerala Awards to honor individuals who have made significant contributions in various fields. The award winners include Justice (retd) M. Fathima Beevi and Nataraja Krishnamurthy, also known as Surya Krishnamurthy.

1. T. Padmanabhan

The Government of Kerala has selected renowned writer T. Padmanabhan as the recipient of the prestigious Kerala Jyothi Award. This highest civilian honor of the state was awarded to Padmanabhan for his extraordinary contribution to Malayalam literature.

2. M. Fathima Beevi

Justice (Retd) M. Fathima Beevi has been selected for the 'Kerala Prabha' award for her significant contribution in the field of social service. His distinguished career in the legal field and dedication to social work has earned him this prestigious honour.

3. Nataraja Krishnamurthy

Nataraja Krishnamurthy, better known by his stage name Surya Krishnamurthy, has been recognized for his outstanding contributions to the field of arts. His artistic endeavors, which have enriched the cultural landscape, have made him a recipient of the 'Kerala Prabha' award.

The ‘Kerala Sree’ award, the third highest state honour, has been conferred on five eminent individuals for their notable achievements in their respective fields:-

  1. Punalur Somarajan (Social Service Sector): Recognized for his extraordinary contribution to social service, Punalur Somarajan has made a significant impact on the welfare of the society.
  2. V.P. Gangadharan (Health Sector): V.P. Gangadharan has been honored with the 'Kerala Sri' award for his remarkable work in the health sector.
  3. Ravi DC (Industry and Commerce Sector): This prestigious honor has been given to Ravi DC for his achievements in the industry and commerce sector.
  4. K. M. Chandrashekhar (Civil Services Sector): K. M. Chandrashekhar's excellent service in the civil services sector has been duly acknowledged.
  5. Pandit Ramesh Narayan (Arts, Music): Pandit Ramesh Narayan has been given the ‘Kerala Sree’ award for his exemplary contribution to the world of arts and music.

About Kerala Awards

The Kerala Awards are state level civilian awards instituted by the Government of Kerala on the model of the Padma Awards instituted by the Government of India. Established in 2021, the award is presented to individuals who have made "invaluable contributions to society". The award winners are announced every year on 1 November, which is celebrated as Kerala Piravi.

The awards are classified into three groups – Kerala Jyoti, Kerala Prabha, and Kerala Sree.

  • Kerala Jyoti: Highest award, given to only one person.
  • Kerala Prabha: The second highest award, given to three individuals.
  • Kerala Sri: The third highest award, given to six individuals.

  Last update :  4 November 2023
  News Category :  Awards
  Post Category :  November 2023