The Central Government has changed the name of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. The government has decided to name it after Major Dhyan Chand, who is called the 'magician' of hockey. Prime Minister Modi gave this information by tweeting on 6 August 2021.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award (from the year 1991 to 2023)

Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna, formerly known as Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, is India's highest sports award. The honor was earlier named after former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi but on 6 August 2021 the name of the award has been changed to Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. This honor was started in 1991-92. This honor was established for appreciation and awareness in the field of sports. Its objective is to increase the prestige of the players by honoring them so that they can get more respect in the society. It is an honor to receive India's Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for achievement in sports.

Who was Major Dhyan Chand?

Major Dhyan Chand was an Indian hockey player and captain, who is counted among the best players in the world. Major Dhyan Chand was called the magician of hockey. No player in the world has been able to reach even around the record of popularity Dhyan Chand has set in the game of hockey. He used to practice a lot even at night, so he was called by his companions as Chand. He was a member of the Indian hockey team that won three Olympic gold medals. His date of birth is celebrated as "National Sports Day" in India. He scored more than 1000 goals in his playing life.

Brief information about Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Category of award Game
Establishment year 1991-92
Prize money 7,50,000
First winner Viswanathan Anand
National Sports Awards 2022 Winners Sharath Kamal (Table tennis)
Previous/Previous Winners (2021) Neeraj Chopra (athletics), Ravi Kumar (wrestling), Lovlina Borgohain (boxing), PR Sreejesh (hockey), Avni Lekhara (para shooting), Sumit Antil (para athletics), Pramod Bhagat (para badminton), Krishna Nagar (para badminton) Manish Narwal (Para Shooting), Mithali Raj (Cricket), Sunil Chhetri (Football), Manpreet Singh (Hockey)
Description Highest sports award given in India

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2022

Sharath Kamal was awarded India's highest sporting honor Khel Ratna Award 2022. Sharath Kamal is an Indian professional table tennis player. He is the first Indian table tennis player to become a ten-time senior national champion and thus broke the record of eight-time national champion Kamlesh Mehta. In 2019 he was awarded the Padma Shri, India's fourth highest civilian award.

Prize Money of Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award

The award carries a medal, a certificate of honor and a cash reward. Till 2004-05, the number of cash rupees was 5,00,000/-. Now this number has been increased from 5,00,000 to 7,50,000. Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna (completed Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna) is given annually to sportspersons in which an individual or team is awarded for outstanding sports performance. Railway pass facility is provided to the honored persons by the Government of India under which Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardees can travel free of cost in first and second class air-conditioned coaches in Rajdhani or Shatabdi trains. Here is the list of Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees.

List of players who received Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award:

Year Name of the awardee Game
1991-92 Viswanathan Anand Chess
1992-93 Geet Sethi Billiards
1993-94 Homi Motiwala (Joint) Sailing
1993-94 Pushpendra Kumar Garg (Joint) Sailing
1994-95 Karnam Malleswari Lifting
1995-96 Kunjarani Devi (Joint) Lifting
1996-97 Leander Paes (Joint) Tennis
1997-98 Sachin Tendulkar Cricket
1998-99 Jyotirmay Sikdar Athletics (track and field)
1999-2000 Dhanraj Pillai hockey
2000-01 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
2001 Abhinav Bindra Shooting
2002 Anjali Ved Pathak (Joint) Shooting
2002 K.M. Binamol (combined) Athletics (track and field)
2003 Anju Bobby George Athletics (track and field)
2004 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
2005 Pankaj Advani Billiards and Snooker
2006 Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
2007 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket
2009 Mary Kom (combined) Boxing
2009 Vijendra Kumar Singh (Joint) Boxing
2009 Sushil Kumar (Joint) Wrestling
2010 Saina Nehwal Badminton
2011 Gagan Narang Shooting
2012 Vijay Kumar Shooting
2012 Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling
2013 Ronjan Sodhi Shooting
2015 Sania Mirza Tennis
2016 P.V. Indus Badminton
2016 Deepa Karmakar Gymnastics
2016 Jitu Rai Shooting
2016 Sakshi Malik Wrestling
2017 Sardar Singh Hockey
2017 Devendra Jhanjharia Javelin throw
2018 Virat Kohli Cricket
2018 Saikhom Mirabai Chanu Lifting
2019 Bajrang Punia Wrestling
2019 Deepa Malik Para athletics
2020 Rohit Sharma Cricket
2020 Vinesh Phogat Wrestling
2020 Manika Batra Table tennis
2020 Rani Rampal Hockey
2020 mariyappan thangavelu Para athlete
2021 Neeraj Chopra Athletics
2021 Ravi Kumar Wrestling
2021 Lovlina Borgohain Boxing
2021 PR Sreejesh Hockey
2021 Avani Lekhara Para shooting
2021 Sumit Antil Para athletics
2021 Pramod Bhagat Para Badminton
2021 Krishna Nagar Para Badminton
2021 Manish Narwal Para shooting
2021 Mithali Raj Cricket
2021 Sunil Chhetri Football
2021 Manpreet Singh Hockey
2022 Sharath Kamal Table tennis

Important Note:
1. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna was not given to anyone in the year 2008.

2. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna was not given to anyone in the year 2014.

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna Award GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Khel Ratna Award FAQs:

Along with national and international medals, Malleswari was also awarded the Arjuna Award in 1994, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna in 1999 and the Padma Shri in 1999.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award is the highest sporting award given in India. This award is named after the best player of India and world hockey, who was a member of the Indian hockey team that won three Olympic gold medals.

Dhyan Chand Award was instituted in the year 2002. This award is given annually by the Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs since 2002. The winners for this honor are selected by a committee constituted by the Ministry for their contribution towards sports during their active playing career.

Dhyan Chand Award is given annually by the Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs. The recipients are selected by a committee constituted by the Ministry and are awarded for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports at the international level over a period of last four years.

The first winner of the Dhyan Chand Award for the game of football in the year 2017 was Syed Shahid Hakim.

  Last update :  Wed 6 Sep 2023
  Post Views :  19232
  Post Category :  Sports Awards