Information about Dhyan Chand Award:

The Dhyan Chand Award is India's best sports award given annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, which honors the lifetime work of a sportsperson. It is the country's highest lifetime award. The award is given only to individuals involved in Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championships and World Cups such as Cricket, Indigenous Games and Parasports.

Brief Description of Dhyan Chand Award:

Category of award Play
Establishment year 2002
Prize money 5 lakh rupees
Overall winner 75
First Winner (2002) Shahruraj Birzadar, Ashok Diwan and Aparna Ghosh
Last Winner (2022) Achanta Sharath Kamal

History of Dhyan Chand Award:

Dhyan Chand Award was established in the year 2002. The award is given annually by the Ministry of Sports and Youth since 2002. The winners for this honor are selected by a committee constituted by the ministry and for their contribution towards the sport during their active sporting tenure and after retirement. The award is named after the famous Indian field hockey player Major Dhyan Chand (1905-79).

He scored more than 1000 goals during his career spanning 22 years (1926–1948), due to which he is known all over the world as the magician of hockey. The first recipients of this award were Shahruraj Birzadar (boxing), Ashok Dewan (hockey) and Aparna Ghosh (basketball), who were awarded in 2002. Usually a maximum of three sportspersons are awarded this award every year, but there are some exceptions as in the years 2003, 2012 and 2013 more than 3 persons were awarded this award.

Amount to be received in Dhyan Chand Award:

Till the year 2009, the amount given by the Government of India in this award was Rs 3 lakh (US$ 4,400), but this amount has been increased from Rs 3 lakh to Rs 5 lakh in the year 2009 by the government. The Dhyan Chand Award now carries Rs 5 lakh (US$7,300) in cash, a statuette, certificate and ceremonial dress.

List of Dhyan Chand Award Winners (2002 to 2023)

Year Winners' names and sports
2022 Achanta Sharath Kamal (Table Tennis)
2021 Neeraj Chopra (Athletics)
2021 Ravi Dahiya (Wrestling)
2021 PR Sreejesh (Hockey)
2021 Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing)
2021 Sunil Chhetri (Football)
2021 Mithali Raj (Cricket)
2021 Pramod Bhagat (Badminton)
2021 Sumit Antil (Athletics)
2021 Avani Lekhara (Shooter)
2021 Krishna Nagar (Badminton)
2021 Manish Narwal (Shooter)
2021 Manpreet Singh (Hockey)
2020 Ladeep Singh Bhullar (Athletics)
2020 Jinsey Phillips (Athletics)
2020 Pradeep Srikrishna Gandhe (Badminton)
2020 Tripti Murgunde (Badminton)
2020 N. Usha (Boxing)
2020 Lakha Singh (Boxing)
2020 Sukhwinder Singh Sandhu (Football)
2020 Ajit Singh (Hockey)
2020 Manpreet Singh (Kabaddi)
2020 J Ranjith Kumar (Para Athletics)
2020 Satyaprakash Tiwari (Para Badminton)
2020 Manjit Singh (Rowing)
2020 Late Shri Sachin Nag (Swimming)
2020 Nandan P Bal (Tennis)
2020 Netrapal Hooda (Wrestling)
2019 Manuel Frederick (Hockey)
2019 Newton Kirtney (tennis)
2019 Arup Basak (Table Tennis)
2019 C. Lalremsanga (Archery)
2019 Manoj Kumar (Wrestling)
2018 Chowgle Dodu Dataresting (wrestling)
2018 Miss Bobby Aloysius (Athletics)
2018 Bharat Kumar Chhetri (Hockey)
2018 Satyadev Prasad (Archery)
2017 Syed Shahid Hakim (Football)
2017 Sumari Tete (Hockey)
2017 Bhupender Singh (Athletics)
2016 Sylvanus Dung Dung (hockey)
2016 Sati Geeta (Athletics)
2016 Rajendra Pralhad Shelke (Rowing)
2015 Romeo James (Hockey)
2015 Shiv Prakash Mishra (Tennis)
2015 T P Padmanabhan Nair (Volleyball)
2014 Zeeshan Ali (Tennis)
2014 Gurmail Singh (Hockey)
2014 KP Thakkar (Swimming)
2013 Syed Ali (Hockey)
2013 Anil Mann (Wrestling)
2013 Mary D'Souza Saqueira (Athletics)
2013 Giriraj Singh (Athletics)
2012 Gundeep Kumar (Hockey)
2012 Vinod Kumar (Wrestling)
2012 Jagraj Singh Mann (Athletics)
2012 Sukhbir Singh Tokas (Disabled Sports)
2011 Shabbir Ali (Football)
2011 Sushil Kohli (Swimming)
2011 Rajkumar (Wrestling)
2010 Anita Chanu (Weightlifting)
2010 Sathish Pillai (Athletics)
2010 Kuldeep Singh (Wrestling)
2009 Satbir Singh Dahiya (Wrestling)
2009 Ishar Singh Deol (Athletics)
2008 Gyan Singh (wrestling)
2008 Hakam Singh (Athletics)
2008 Mukhbain Singh (Hockey)
2007 Rajinder Singh (Wrestling)
2007 Shamsher Singh (Kabaddi)
2007 Varinder Singh (Hockey)
2006 Harishchandra Birajdar (Wrestling)
2006 Uday K. Prabhu (Athletics)
2006 Nandi Singh (Hockey)
2005 Maruti Mane (wrestling)
2005 Manoj Kumar Kothari (Billiards and Snooker)
2005 Rajinder Singh (Hockey)
2004 Digambar Mehendale (Athletics)
2004 Hardayal Singh (Hockey)
2004 Labh Singh (Athletics)
2003 Charles Cornelius (hockey)
2003 Ram Kumar (Basketball)
2003 Dharam Singh (Hockey)
2003 Om Prakash (Volleyball)
2003 Smita Shirole Yadav (Rowing)
2002 Shahuraj Birajdar (boxing)
2002 Ashok Divan (Hockey)
2002 Aparna Ghosh (Basketball)

Read also:

  Last update :  Thu 16 Mar 2023
  Post Views :  27481
  Post Category :  Cricket