Central Banking Awards 2023

Reserve Bank of India (RBI) Governor Shaktikanta Das was conferred with the 'Governor of the Year' award for the year 2023. The International Economic Research Journal Central Banking gave the award to Das. Earlier in 2015, the Central Banking had also honored former RBI Governor Raghuram Rajan with the Governor of the Year Award.

The RBI under the leadership of Shaktikanta Das has implemented several important reforms, introduced new payment systems and taken measures to boost growth during the pandemic.

The Central Banking Awards 2023 recognizes excellence in a community that faces significant policy and operational challenges amid rising inflationary pressures, rapid technological change and environmental change. Many institutions have also made significant improvements in their governance, operations, communications, economics, currency, reserves and market infrastructure capabilities.

Shaktikanta Das
Das is a retired Indian Administrative Service officer of 1980 batch of Tamil Nadu cadre. Shaktikanta Das is serving as the current and 25th Governor of the Reserve Bank of India. He was previously a member of the Fifteenth Finance Commission and India's Sherpa at the G20. He was made the governor after the consent of Urjit Patel. Even when demonetisation took place in November 2016, Das was on the main fronts. Das had also served as a member in the 15th Election Commission. The Indian side is represented by BRICS, the International Monetary Fund and the government.

  Last update :  17 March 2023
  News Category :  Awards
  Post Category :  March 2023