Current Railway Minister of India 2024:

The Current Railway Minister of India is Ashwini Vaishnav. He has been serving as the Railway Minister of India since 8 July 2021. Ashwini Vaishnav Political career is associated with the Bharatiya Janata Party, before that he has also held the post of an IAS officer, since 28 June 2019, he is a member of the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of Odisha He is a member of the Parliament of India representing the state.

Prior to Ashwini Vaishnav, India's well-known Indian politician and chartered accountant Piyush Goyal served as the Railway Minister of India from 3 September 2017 to 7 July 2021.

List of Railway Ministers of India (1947–2024):

Name of Railway Minister Term Political party or coalition
Asaf Ali September 02, 1946-August 14, 1947 Indian National Congress
John Mathai 15 August, 1947-22 September, 1948 Indian National Congress
N Gopalaswami Ayyangar 22 September, 1948-13 May, 1952 Indian National Congress
Lal Bahadur Shastri 13 May, 1952-07 December 1956 Indian National Congress
Jagjivan Ram 07 December, 1956-10 April, 1962 Indian National Congress
Golden Lion 10 April, 1962-21 September, 1963 Indian National Congress
A. C. Dasappa 21st September, 1963-08th June, 1964 Indian National Congress
S. Of. Patil June 09, 1964-March 12, 1967 Indian National Congress
C. M. Poonacha 13 March, 1967-14 February, 1969 Indian National Congress
Ram Subhag Singh 14 February, 1969-04 November, 1969 Indian National Congress
P. Govind Menon 04 November, 1969-18 February, 1970 Indian National Congress
Gulzarilal Nanda 18 February, 1970-17 March, 1971 Indian National Congress
K. Hanmunthaiya March 18, 1971-July 22, 1972 Indian National Congress
T. a. pai 23 July, 1972-04 February, 1973 Indian National Congress
Lalit Narayan Mishra February 05, 1973-January 02, 1975 Indian National Congress
Kamalapati Tripathi 11 February 1975-23 March 1977 Indian National Congress
Madhu Dandavate 26 March 1977-28 July, 1979 Janata Party
T. a. pai July 30, 1979-January 13, 1980 Janata Party (Secular) & Indian National Congress
Kamalapati Tripathi January 14, 1980-November 12, 1980 Indian National Congress
Kedar Pandey 12 November 1980-14 January 1982 Indian National Congress
Prakash Chandra Sethi 15th January, 1982-02nd September, 1982 Indian National Congress
A. B. a. Ghani Khan Chowdhury 02 September 1982-31 December, 1984 Indian National Congress
Bansi Lal 31st December, 1984-04th June, 1986 Indian National Congress
Mohsina Kidwai June 24, 1986-October 21, 1986 Indian National Congress
Madhavrao Scindia 22nd October, 1986-01st December, 1989 Indian National Congress
George Fernandes 05 December 1989-10 November, 1990 Janata Dal
Janeshwar Mishra 21st November, 1990-21st June, 1991 Samajwadi Janata Party
C. Of. Jaffar Sharif June 21, 1991-October 16, 1995 Indian National Congress
Ram Vilas Paswan June 01, 1996-March 19, 1998 United Front (Janata Dal)
Nitish Kumar March 19, 1998-August 05, 1999 National Democratic Alliance (NDA)
Ram Naik August 06, 1999-October 12, 1999 National Democratic Alliance (NDA)
Mamata Banerjee October 13, 1999-March 15, 2001 National Democratic Alliance (NDA)
Nitish Kumar March 20, 2001-May 22, 2004 National Democratic Alliance (NDA)
Lalu Prasad Yadav May 23, 2004-May 25, 2009 United Progressive Alliance (UPA)
Mamata Banerjee May 26, 2009-May 19, 2011 United Progressive Alliance (UPA) & National Democratic Alliance (NDA)
Dinesh Trivedi July 12, 2011-March 14, 2012 United Progressive Alliance (UPA)
Mukul Roy March 20, 2012-September 21, 2012 United Progressive Alliance (UPA)
C. P. Joshi September 22, 2012-October 28, 2012 United Progressive Alliance (UPA)
Pawan Kumar Bansal October 28, 2012-May 10, 2013 United Progressive Alliance (UPA)
C. P. Joshi May 11, 2013-June 16, 2013 United Progressive Alliance (UPA)
Mallikarjun Kharge June 17, 2013-May 25, 2014 United Progressive Alliance (UPA)
D. V. Sadananda Gowda May 26, 2014-November 09, 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Suresh Prabhu 10 November, 2014-03 September, 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Piyush Goyal September 03, 2017-July 07, 2021 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
Ashwini Vaishnav July 07, 2021- present Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)

Ministry of Railways, India:

The Ministry of Railways is an important ministry of the Government of India that controls the construction and transportation of railways in India. The charge of Indian Railways is with this ministry. Asaf Ali was the first Railway Minister of India who was also the Governor of Odisha. He worked on the post of Railways and Traffic from September 02, 1946 to February 1947 during the Interim Government.

From where to where did India's first train run?

On 16 April 1853, India's first train ran from Mumbai to Thane (34 km). A 14-coach train with a steam engine had departed from Mumbai to Thane. Indian Railways is a major transport organization, the largest rail network in Asia and the second largest conglomerate in the world under a single entity.

Structure of Ministry of Railways:

Railways has a total of three ministers including one cabinet and two ministers of state. The Railway Board, the apex body of the Indian Railways, comes under the Ministry of Railways. The Railway Board is constituted by a Chairman and a number of "Members of the Railway Board". Many directorates come under the Railway Board. The headquarters of the Ministry of Railways is Rail Bhawan located in New Delhi.

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 24 Jan 2024
  Post Views :  25916
  Post Category :  Ministers of Government of India