Through this chapter, we will know important and interesting facts related to Sheila Dikshit such as his personal information, education and career, achievements and honored awards and many more. Important facts related to Sheila Dikshit given in this topic have been collected, which will help you in preparing for competitive exams.

Sheila Dikshit Quick General Knowledge

NameSheila Dikshit (Sheila Dikshit)
Date of Birth31 March 1938
Birth PlaceKapurthala, Punjab, British India
Date of death20 July 2019
Father Name Sanjay Kapoor
Achievement1998 - Second female chief minister of delhi
Profession / CountryFemale / Politician / India

Sheila Dikshit - Second female chief minister of delhi (1998)

Sheila Dixit was an Indian politician and one of the longest serving Chief Ministers in the national capital Delhi region. She was the second woman Chief Minister of Delhi as well as the first woman Chief Minister of the country who served as Chief Minister for three consecutive times.

Sheila Dixit died on 19 July 2019 at the Escorts Heart Institute but died on 20 July 2019 at the age of 81 due to a heart attack. For which the Delhi government announced a two-day state mourning in Delhi on his death.
She received his primary education from Secondary education at the Convent of Jesus and Mary School in Delhi, after which he received his bachelor's degree in Masters of Arts from Miranda House College in Delhi. Sheila Dixit was married to Vinod Dixit, son of former West Bengal Governor Uma Shankar Dixit. At that time Vinod was employed as an officer in the Indian Administrative Service. Dixit has two children, a son and a daughter, son's name Sandeep Dixit and daughter's name is Latika Dixit Syed.

Sheila Dixit served as the female Chief Minister of Delhi from 1998 to 2013 from the Indian National Congress Party. He held the post of Chief Minister of National Capital Territory of Delhi for 15 years. Sheila Dixit first won the election from the Gol Market area in 1998 for the post of Chief Minister. She won 52 out of 70 seats by defeating Bharatiya Janata Party candidate, Kirti Azad by 5,667 votes and then became the second woman Chief Minister after Sushma Swaraj for the first time. He won the second time in the 2003 assembly elections from Gol Bazar Assembly constituency, defeating BJP candidate Poonam Azad by 12,935 votes and this was his second term as the Chief Minister of Delhi. He contested for the third time from the Delhi Assembly constituency in 2008, winning by defeating Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Vijay Jolly by 13,982 votes. Sheila Dixit won the Congress government 43 out of 70 seats. With whom Dixit continued to hold the post of Chief Minister of Delhi, winning for the third time in a row. When Sheila Dixit contested in the Delhi Assembly in 2013, Aam Aadmi Party founder Arvind Kejriwal defeated Sheila Dixit by 25,864 votes. With which he resigned as Chief Minister on 8 December 2013 but remained the Acting Chief Minister of Delhi State till Arvind Kejriwal was sworn in till 28 December 2013.

Sheila Dixit also represented the Kannauj parliamentary constituency of Uttar Pradesh, during the period between 1984 and 1989. When she became the President of Young Women's Association in 1970, she had contributed significantly in the establishment of two large hostels in Delhi. From 1978 AD to 1984 AD, she served as the Executive Secretary of the Garments Exporters Association. Sheila Dixit was also the secretary of Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust, Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust offers Indira Gandhi Award for Peace, Disarmament and Development, under her patronage, this trust also opened an environmental center. She represented India in the UN Commission on the Status of Women for five years between 1984 AD and 1989 AD.

The Delhi Women of the Achievers Award was given to Sheila Dixit in 2013 by the Ladies League for outstanding public service. Sheila Dixit was given the Dara Shikoh Award by the Indo-Iran Society in 2010. In 2010 he was given the Dara Shikoh Award by the India-Iran Society. In 2013, the Delhi Women of the Decade Achievers Award was given by the All Ladies League for outstanding public service. In 2008 the Journalist Association of India received the distinction of being the best Chief Minister of India.

Sheila Dikshit FAQs:

Sheila Dikshit is to be known as the Second female chief minister of delhi in 1998.

Sheila Dikshit died on 20 July 2019.

Sheila Dikshit father name was Sanjay Kapoor.

  Last update :  Tue 28 Jun 2022
  Post Views :  6697
  Post Category :  Famous Politicians of India