Gallantry Awards 2018:

President of India Ram Nath Kovind announced a total of 390 Gallantry Awards 2018 on the eve of Republic Day on 25 January. President has received 1 Ashok Chakra, 1 Kirti Chakra, 14 Shaurya Chakra, 28 Param Vishisht Seva Medal, 4 Uttam Yudh Seva Medal, twice two Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, 49 Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, 10 Yudh Seva Medal, twice two Army Medal (Gallantry), 86 Sena Medals. Kovind won the Naval Medal (Gallantry), three Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry), twice two Sena Medals (devotion to duty), 38 Sena Medal (devotion to duty), 13 Naval Medal (devotion to duty), 14 Vayu Sena medals (devotion to duty), once two for distinguished service. Medals and 121 Vishisht Seva Medals were also approved.

Ashok Chakra (Medal):

Indian Air Force's Garuda commando Jyoti Prakash Nirala will be awarded the Ashok Chakra posthumously. It is the highest military honor given in times of peace. Nirala had single-handedly killed 03 terrorists in an encounter with terrorists in Hajin area of ​​Jammu and Kashmir in November 2017.

Kirti Chakra:

It was announced to honor Major Vijayant Bisht with Kirti Chakra. Major Vijayant Bisht came to know about the infiltration of terrorists in Uri district of Jammu and Kashmir on the night of 06 June 2017, after which he along with his team reached to counter them. Major Bisht saved the life of a rifle man injured by the bullets of the terrorists and killed a terrorist during the protracted encounter. Major Bisht is being awarded the Kirti Chakra for his courageous act.

Shaurya Chakra (14 in total):

  • A total of 9 soldiers of the Army were announced to be awarded the Shaurya Chakra. In which the names of heroes like Major Akhil Raj RV, Captain Rohit Shukla, Captain Abhinav Shukla, Captain Pradeep Shairiya Arya, Havaldar Mubarik Ali, Havaldar Rabindra Thapa, Naik Narendra Singh, Lance Naik Badher Hussain and Paratrooper Manchu are named.
  • Corporal Devendra Mehta, Vayu Sena Medal Wing Commander Anshul Saxena, Squadron Leader Rajiv Chauhan and Squadron Leader Kamal Sharma were among the winners of the Shaurya Chakra of the Air Force.
  • Talking about the paramilitary forces, two CRPF CoBRA commandos Vikas Jakhar and Riyaz Alam Ansari were announced to be honored with Shaurya Chakra.

Read also:

  Last update :  Tue 13 Sep 2022
  Post Views :  16186
  Post Category :  National Awards