Indira Gandhi Peace Awards Winners List

Information about Indira Gandhi Peace Prize:

The Indira Gandhi Prize or Indira Gandhi Peace Prize, the Indira Gandhi Prize for Disarmament and Development, is a prestigious award presented annually by the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust to individuals or organizations for their constructive efforts to promote international peace, development and a new international economic order. is recognized. This scientific discoveries are used for the greater good of humanity, and increase the scope of freedom.

The award carries a cash prize of 2.5 lakh Indian rupees and a citation. A written work, published to be worthy of consideration. The panel constituted by the Indira Gandhi Memorial Trust comprises prominent national and international personalities, including past recipients. Recipients are selected from a pool of national and international nominees.

Brief Description of Indira Gandhi Peace Prize:

Category of award For significant contribution to the cause of social service, disarmament or development
Prize Indira Gandhi Peace Prize or Indira Gandhi Award
Establishment year 1986
Prize money Rs 2.5 lakh in cash, a citation and a memento
First winner Parliamentarians for Global Action (1986)
last winner Pratham (Organization) (2021)

Significance of Indira Gandhi Peace Prize:

The Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration is a prestigious award instituted by the Indian National Congress, after Indira Gandhi, the first female Prime Minister of India. The award is given annually to eminent groups/institutions to promote national integration and fellowship of religious groups, communities, ethnic groups, cultures, languages ​​and traditions of India, and through thought and action in the spirit of the country. It is elected by an advisory committee of eminent persons representing the arts, sciences, culture, education, literature, religion, social work, journalism, law and public life.

This award is given on Martyrdom Day, 31 October. The award is given for recognized services for the year to which the award relates and the two previous years.

List of all recipients of Indira Gandhi Peace Prize:-

Here is the list of all the recipients of Indira Gandhi Peace Prize, from 1986 to 2021:-

The year Award recipient Description
1986 Parliamentarians for Global Action International Organization of Parliamentarians
1987 Mikhail Gorbachev Former Soviet Union leader
1988 Gro Harlem Brundtland Former prime minister of Norway
1989 UNICEF United Nations Children's Emergency Fund
1990 Sam Nujoma First president of namibia
1991 Rajiv Gandhi Former Prime Minister of India (Posthumous)
1992 Saburo Okita Economist of japan
1993 Vaclav Havel First president of the czech republic
1994 Trevor Huddleston To work against apartheid
1995 Olusegun Obasanjo 12th President of Nigeria
1996 Médecins Sans Frontieres Voluntary organization
1997 Jimmy Carter 39th President of the United States
1998 Muhammad Yunus Founder of Grameen Bank
1999 M.S. Swaminathan Indian agricultural scientist
2000 Mary Robinson 7th President of Ireland
2001 Sadako Ogata Former United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
2002 Shrinath Ramphal Second Secretary General of the Commonwealth
2003 Kofi Annan 7th Secretary General of the United Nations
2004 Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Princess of thailand
2005 Hamid Karzai First president of afghanistan
2006 Wangari Mathai Environmental and political activist, first African woman to win Nobel Prize
2007 Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Charitable organization
2008 Mohamed Elbaradei 4th Secretary General of the International Atomic Energy Agency
2009 Sheikh Hasina Prime Minister of Bangladesh
2010 Luiz Inquio Lula da Silva Former president of brazil
2011 Ela Bhatt Founder of Service (SEWA)
2012 Ellen Johnson Sirleaf President of Liberia
2013 Angela Merkel Chancellor of germany
2014 Indian Space Research Organization Indian Space Agency
2015 UNHCR High commissioner to the nation
2017 Manmohan Former Prime Minister of India, Finance Minister and Indian Bank Loans
2018 Center And NNS Research and technology independent
2019 Sir David Frederick Attenborough Sir David Frederick Attenborough OM CH CVO CBE FRS FRSA FLS FZS FSA FRSGS is an English broadcaster and natural historian.
2020 Sheikh mujibur rahman Founding leaders of bangladesh
2021 Pratham An organization dedicated to improving the quality of education among underprivileged children in India and around the world.
  Last update :  2022-12-05 10:57:24
  Download :  PDF
  Post Views :  2088
  Post Category :  Awards and Honors