What is Gandhi Peace Prize?

The Gandhi Peace Prize is an honor given annually for contributions to social, economic and political change through nonviolence and other Gandhian methods. Which the Government of India depends on the individual or an organization/institution that brings about social, political and economic change using non-violent and other Gandhian methods.

Gandhi Peace Prize 2023 Winner

On 18 June 2023 Gita Press, Gorakhpur was awarded the Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2021, before that for the year 2020 the Government of India honored Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (Father of the Nation in Bangladesh.) for "social work through non-violent and other Gandhian methods". Gandhi Peace Prize" for his contribution towards economic and political transformation.

List of Gandhi Peace Prize winners (1995-2023)

Years Awarded Gandhi Peace Prize Country
1995 Julius Nyerere Tanzania
Julius Kambarage Nyerere led Tanzania and Tanganyika from 1960 to 1985.
1996 A. T. Ariyaratne Sri Lanka
Founder of Sarvodaya Shramdan Movement
1997 Gerhard Fischer Germany
German diplomat, recognized for his work against leprosy and polio
1998 Ramakrishna Mission India
Founded by Swami Vivekananda to promote social welfare, tolerance and non-violence among disadvantaged groups
1999 Baba Amte India
Social worker, especially known for his work for the rehabilitation and empowerment of poor people suffering from leprosy
2000 Nelson Mandela South Africa
Former president of south africa
Grameen Bank Bangladesh
Founded by Muhammad Yunus
2001 John Hume United Kingdom
Northern Irish politician and key figure in the Northern Ireland peace process
2002 Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan India
Educational belief that emphasizes Indian culture
2003 Václav Havel Czech Republic
Last President of Czechoslovakia and first President of the Czech Republic
2004 Coretta Scott King United States
Activist and civil rights leader.
2005 Desmond Tutu South Africa
South African cleric and activist. He was a South African social rights activist and retired Anglican bishop who rose to worldwide prominence during the 1980s as an opponent of apartheid.
2013 Chandi Prasad Bhatt India
Environmentalist, social worker and leader of the Chipko movement. Ghayal Dasholi Gram Swaraj Sangh (DGSS)
2014 ISRO India
Space agency of the Indian government. Objective is to advance space technology and deliver its applications.
2015 Vivekananda Kendra India
A Hindu spiritual organization based on the principles of Swami Vivekananda
2016 Akshaya Patra Foundation India
A non-profit organization in India that runs school lunch programs across India.
Sulabh International India
A social service organization that works to promote human rights, environmental sanitation, non-conventional sources of energy, waste management and social reforms through education.
2017 Ekal Abhiyan Trust India
Contribution in providing education to rural and tribal children in remote areas India, Rural Empowerment, Gender and Social Equality.
2018 Yōhei Sasakawa Japan
For his contribution to the eradication of leprosy in India and around the world.
2019 Qaboos bin Said Al Said Oman
For contribution towards social, economic and political change through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.
2020 Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Bangladesh
For his contribution to social, economic and political change through non-violent and other Gandhian methods
2021 Geeta Press, Gorakhpur India
For outstanding contribution towards social, economic and political change through non-violent and other Gandhian methods.

Constitution and prize money of Gandhi Peace Prize

The award reflects the Gandhian principle of nonviolence to bring about social, political and economic change. It was started in the year 1995 which was the 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. The Gandhi Peace Prize is awarded by providing the following items:

  • A Citation
  • A Plaque
  • An exquisite traditional handicraft/handloom item
  • Rs 1 crore

The Gandhi Peace Prize is applicable without any discrimination of language, caste, creed, nationality, gender, race etc.

Selection Process for the Gandhi Peace Prize

  • The Gandhi Peace Prize is awarded annually to one individual/organization. A jury consisting of the Prime Minister of India, the Chief Justice of India, the leader of the single largest opposition party in the Lok Sabha and two eminent members decides the award.
  • A majority of the jury is required to make a decision. Furthermore, no protest can be made against the decisions of the jury.
  • The Prime Minister is the head of the jury. In his absence, the remaining members of the jury decide the presiding officer.
  • The tenure of the jury is three years.

Who can propose the Gandhi Peace Prize?

The jury is empowered to invite anyone for the Gandhi Peace Prize as it may deem fit. In addition, the following list of members have the ability to propose the Gandhi Peace Prize:

  1. Ex-jury member.
  2. Former awardee of the Gandhi Peace Prize.
  3. Members of the Indian Parliament.
  4. Nobel laureates for the last five years.
  5. The Secretary-General of the United Nations (UN) as well as other leaders of international organizations.
  6. Vice Chancellors of Universities.
  7. Heads of Indian Missions Foreign Ministers.
  8. Heads of institutions that are into the study and research of nonviolence and Gandhian principles.
  9. Lok Sabha/Legislative Assemblies and Presiding Officers.
  10. Chief Ministers of states and union territories with administration and governors.
  11. Commonwealth Secretary-General.
  12. Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

Such resolutions aim to promote peace, non-violence, emancipation of the less-privileged sections of society, tolerance, social harmony and social justice.

Read also:

  Last update :  Mon 19 Jun 2023
  Post Views :  14246
  Post Category :  National Awards