State animals of the states of India:

State Animal of India: National Animal of India and State Animal of the States Declaring an animal as the national animal, a bird as the national bird, a tree as the national tree or a flower as the national flower, even if there is no direct effect on wildlife But the awareness and sensitivity towards nature, environment and animals in the citizens of the country is expanded by this. Tiger is our national animal. Do you know that before 9th July 1969 our national animal was lion.

The total number of state animals including the national animal is 21. Generally a wild animal has been declared by one state as its state animal, but there are some wild animals which have been declared by two states as their state animal. Gaur, Mithun, reindeer and musk deer are such wildlife. Elephant is one such wildlife, which has been declared by four states as their state animal.

List of state animals of the states of India:

State Common Name Scientific Name
Andhra Pradesh Black buck Antelope servikapra
Arunachal Pradesh Gayle Bose frontalis
Assam One horned rhinoceros Rhinoceros unicornis
Bihar Bull Oxen[2]
Chhattisgarh Wild buffalo Bubalus Bubalis Arnie
Goa Gavoredo in Gaur/Konkani Bose gauras
Gujarat Asiatic Lion Panthera leo persica
Haryana Black buck Antelope servikapra
Himachal Pradesh Snow leopard Uncia uncia or Panthera uncia
Jammu and Kashmir Kashmiri Baharsinga/Hangul Cervus Elaphus Henglu
Jharkhand Indian elephant Elephs maximus indicus
Karnataka Indian elephant Elephs maximus indicus
Kerala Indian elephant Elephs maximus indicus
Madhya Pradesh Reindeer Ruservus duvausili
Maharashtra Indian giant squirrel Ratufa indica
Manipur Sangai Cervus aldi aldi
Meghalaya Clouded leopard Neofelis nebulosa
Mizoram Himalayan serow Capricornis thar
Nagaland Gayle/Gemini Bose frontalis
Odisha Sambar Rusa unicolor
Punjab Black buck Antelope servikapra
Rajasthan Chinkara Gazella Bennetti
Sikkim Red panda Ailurus fulgens
Tamil Nadu Nilgiri Tahr Nilgiritragus hyalocris
Telangana Pied deer Axis
Tripura Fire langur Trachypithecus Fairei
Uttar Pradesh Sing out Ruservus duvausili
Uttarakhand Alpine musk deer Moscus chrysogaster
West Bengal Fish cat Prenylurus viverinus
Union territories
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Dugong Dugong
Chandigarh Indian gray weasel Herpestes edwardsi
Dadra and Nagar Haveli Not yet announced Not yet announced
Daman and Diu Not yet announced Not yet announced
Delhi Blue cow Boselaphus tragocamelus
Lakshadweep Butterfly Chaetodon decucitus
Puducherry Indian Squirrel Funambulus palmarum

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

State Animal GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

State Animals FAQs:

The official symbol of RBI, which is called the bank of the country's banks, is a palm tree and a leopard. The symbol is a sign of the colonial past and is derived from the insignia of the East India Company.

Cheetah has been adopted as the national animal of India in 1972. Its main objective is to ensure the safety of the cheetah and the protection of its supportive environment. With this, the lifestyle of the cheetah can be preserved by adapting to the natural environment.

The 'National Heritage Animal' of India is the elephant. Elephants have been an integral part of Indian culture and history, and they hold immense importance in religious, cultural and ecological contexts.

Nepal adopted it's new Constitution on September 20, 2015 which was chartered by President Ram Baran Yadav. According to PTI, the General Secretary of Nepali Congress, Krishna Prasad Sitaula said, "s for the pro-Hindus, we have made cow our national animal.

Dogs have been domesticated and kept as pets since the Paleolithic period, as archaeologists can infer from drawings and carvings found in ancient camp sites and tombs.

  Last update :  Sat 18 Mar 2023
  Post Views :  19150
  Post Category :  Miscellaneous GK of India