First Lady in India and Achievement:

Here is a list of the names and achievements of the first famous Indian women(s) in India, who first established their dominance in India. Indian women have made their valuable contribution in various fields of the country like:- History, Sociology, Science, Politics, Awards and Honors, Entertainment etc.

Some questions are definitely asked in every exam on the basis of first ladies in India, so it is very important for your all type of exam preparation. Let us know about the names and achievements of the first 166 influential women in India like this:-

List of First Ladies in India:

Achievement Name
First Indian female shooter to win gold medal in Asian Games Rahi Sarnobat (22 August 2018)
The first Indian woman to win a gold medal in wrestling at the Asian Games Vinesh Phogat (20 August 2018)
First Indian woman player to win gold medal in World Junior Athletics Hima Das (13 July 2018)
First Indian woman player to score 2000 runs in T20 Internationals Mithali Raj (08 June 2018)
India's first blind woman IAS Pranjal Patil (June 2018)
First woman chancellor of Jamia Millia Islamia (National Islamic University) Dr. Najma Heptulla (29 May 2018)
First Indian woman player to win gold medal in table tennis at Commonwealth Games Manika Batra (April 2018)
The first Indian woman player to win a silver medal in the Olympic Games PV Sindhu
First Indian woman boxer to win gold medal in boxing at Commonwealth Games MC Mary Kom (April 2018)
Indian women gymnasts to win bronze medal in Gymnastics World Cup Aruna Budda Reddy (25 February 2018)
First Indian woman to receive 'Nari Shakti Puraskar' in the field of Law and Justice Geeta Mittal (08 March 2018)
First woman officer to be recruited in Indian Army Priya Jhingan
First Indian disabled to climb Mount Everest Arunima Sinha (21 May 2013)
The first Indian woman to fly a fighter plane Avani Chaturvedi (19 February 2018)
First woman judge of Manipur High Court Abhilasha Kumari (February 2018)
First woman president of Indian Banks' Association (IBA) Usha Ananthasubramanian (January 2018)
The country's first blind Indian Foreign Service (IFS) officer NL Beno Zefine (July 2015)
India's first female photojournalist Homi Vyarawala
First Indian woman swimmer to win gold medal at World Para Swimming Championships Kanchanmala Pandey (December 2017)
First woman pilot to join Indian Navy Shubhangi Swarup (Nov 2017)
Gurugram's first woman mayor Madhu Azad (November 2017)
First Indian woman Secretary General of Lok Sabha Snehlata Srivastava (November 2017)
First Indian woman player to win gold medal in world championship Pooja Kadian Wushu (October 2017)
First Indian woman to become a councilor of a municipal ward in Britain Rehana Amir (May 2017)
The first Indian woman to be elected a judge in the United Nations judicial body "International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea" (ITLOAC) Neeru Chadha (June 2017)
First Indian woman leader to be awarded the Asian Social Entrepreneur Award Nisha Dutt (June 2017)
First Indian woman to scale Mount Everest for the fourth time Anshu Jamsenpa
First woman president of Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) Shobhana Kamineni (01 May 2017)
First Indian player to win Asian Squash Championship title Joshna Chinappa (30 April 2017)
Gujarat's first woman Director General of Police (DGP) Geeta Johri (04 April 2017)
The first Indian woman combat officer to be inducted into the Border Security Force (BSF) Tanushree Parikh
First woman cricketer to be honored with BCCI Lifetime Achievement Award Shantha Rangaswamy
India's first female teacher Savitribai Phule
First woman president of All India Tennis Association Praveen Mahajan (2017)
The first Indian woman to become the brand ambassador of Australia Parineeti Chopra
India's first blind woman doctor Kritika Purohit
The first Indian female player to play in Australia's cricket tournament Big Bash League Harmanpreet Kaur
First Indian Woman Judge of High Court Justice Anna Chandy (Kerala)
First Woman Chief Engineer in India Mrs. P.K.Gesia
First Indian Woman President of Indian National Congress Sarojini Naidu
First Indian woman wrestler to win gold medal in wrestling at Commonwealth Games Geeta Phogat (2010 Commonwealth Games)
First Indian female athlete (athlete) to win a medal in Paralympic Games Deepa Malik (Won silver medal in 2016 Paralympics Games.)
First woman minister in the cabinet of any state in India Vijay Lakshmi Pandit (United Provinces, 1937)
First Dalit Chief Minister of any state of India Mayawati (Uttar Pradesh)
First Indian woman chairperson of Union Public Service Commission Mrs Rose Million Bethue
First woman to be awarded Bharat Ratna Mrs. Indira Gandhi

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

First Women of India GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

First Lady In India FAQs:

Bula Chowdhary is a long distance swimmer. She is the first woman in the world to have swum across all the seven oceans of the five continents. He has been awarded the Arjuna Award. She has been given the title of Jal Pari.

The first female winner of "Kaun Banega Crorepati 6" was Sumeet Kaur Sahni. She won an amount of one crore in season-6. Sumeet Kaur Sahni had achieved her significant victory in this show with great hard work and knowledge.

Radhabai Subrayan was the first woman parliamentarian of India. She also served as a member of the All India Women's Conference. At the Round Table Conference of 1930, she and Jahanara Shahnawaz were the only two active members of women's organizations nominated to the conference.

VS Ramadevi MA, LLM, was the Chief Election Commissioner of India from 26 November 1990 to 11 December 1990. She was the first woman to hold the office of the Chief Election Commissioner of India.

Annie Besant became the first woman president of the Indian National Congress in the year 1917. Many social workers of India got strength after getting inspiration from Annie Besant. She considered India as her motherland. She was Irish by birth, English by marriage and Indian by adoption of India.

  Last update :  Thu 6 Oct 2022
  Post Views :  22795
  Post Category :  Miscellaneous GK of India