List of Nobel Prize winners for the year 2015:

The Nobel Prizes, the most prestigious award of the year 2015, have been announced by the Nobel Foundation in the early week of October.

Brief History of Nobel Prize:

The Nobel Prize was established in the year 1895 by the world famous Swedish scientist and inventor of dynamite, Alfred Bernard Nobel. This award is given every year for distinguished and notable contributions in 6 different fields: medical science, physics, chemistry, literature, economics and peace. Initially the Nobel Prize in Economics was not involved in this. It was announced by the Central Bank of Sweden in 1968. The first prize for economics was awarded in the year 1969. The first Nobel Prizes for Peace, Literature, Chemistry, Medicine and Physics were awarded in the year 1901. All winners will be honored in Sweden on December 10, the death anniversary of Alfred Nobel.

Amount to be received by the Nobel Laureate:

80 lakh Swedish kronor (about Rs 6.25 crore) is given to the Nobel laureate as prize money.

The categories of Nobel Prizes given in various fields for the year 2015:

1. Medicine or Physiology Nobel Prize:

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Medicine will be awarded to three scientists who have made a significant contribution to the fight against infection caused by parasites. Half of the prize money will be awarded jointly to Irish-born scientist William C. Campbell and Japanese scientist Satoshi Omura for their discovery of a new method of therapy for infection caused by a parasite called roundworm. The remaining half of the prize money will be given to Chinese scientist Youyou tu for the discovery of a new method of therapy for malaria.

2. Nobel Prize in Physics:

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Japanese scientist Takaaki Kajita and Canadian scientist Arthur B. Provided jointly to McDonald's. Both of them are being awarded this award for their discovery of neutrino oscillations, which proves that neutrinos have mass.

3. Nobel Prize in Chemistry:

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Chemistry will be jointly awarded to American scientist Paul Modrish, Swedish scientist Thomas Lindal and Turkish scientist Aziz Sankar. He will be given this award for his mechanistic study of DNA repair.

4. Nobel Prize for Literature:

Svetlana Alexievich, a female journalist and writer from Belarus, was selected for the 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature. This award is being given to Svetlana for her diverse and courageous writings of the problems of the present times.

5. Nobel Peace Prize:

The 2015 Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded to Tunisia's democratic arbitration group 'National Dialogue Quartet'. for its significant contribution.

6. Nobel Prize in Economics:

The 2015 Nobel Prize in Economics (Economic Sciences) will be awarded to British economist Angus Deaton. He was awarded this prize for the analysis of 'Use, Poverty and Welfare'.

Read also:

  Last update :  Fri 9 Sep 2022
  Post Views :  6418
  Post Category :  Nobel Prizes