Who is called Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman?

The Vice-President of India is the Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, but when the Rajya Sabha Chairman is not present for any reason, then the proceedings of the Rajya Sabha are presided over by the Deputy Chairman. The Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha is elected internally by the Rajya Sabha. It is a constitutional post. Article 89 of the Constitution of India states that the Rajya Sabha may elect one of its MPs to the post of Deputy Chairman, when the post is vacant.

How is the Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha elected?

Rules for electing Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman: The process of electing Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman is very simple. Any Rajya Sabha MP can propose the name of his fellow MP for this constitutional post. The support of another MP is also necessary on this proposal. Along with this, the member moving the motion has to submit a declaration signed by the MP containing the name of the person whose name he proposes. The motion also mentions that he is ready to serve as the Deputy Speaker if elected.

Each MP is allowed to move or support only one motion. If more than one MP is named in a motion, then the majority of the House will decide who will be elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. If there is a consensus among all the political parties regarding the name of any one MP, then in this situation the MP will be unanimously elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

How many times the Deputy Chairman elections have been held so far:

A total of 19 elections have been held so far for the post of Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha and out of these 14 times the candidates for this post were elected unanimously, that is, there was no need for election. For the first time in the year 1969, the election was held for the post of Deputy Speaker. The Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha is elected entirely by the MPs of the Rajya Sabha.

Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman 2024:

The current Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha is Harivansh Narayan Singh of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). In the Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman election held on 09 August 2018, NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh got 125 votes while UPA candidate BK Hariprasad got 105 votes. 02 members abstained from voting. The current figure in the Rajya Sabha is 244.

When all the members are present in the House, 123 members are needed to win. The post of Deputy Chairman becomes vacant after the resignation, removal from office or expiration of the term of the sitting Rajya Sabha MP. The term of former Deputy Chairman Professor PJ Kurien expired on July 01, due to which the post was vacant.

List of Deputy Speakers of Rajya Sabha: (1952 to 2024)

Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Tenure and Political Party
S. V. Krishnamurthy Rao 31 May 1952 to 02 April 1956 (Indian National Congress)
S. V. Krishnamurthy Rao 25 April 1956 to 01 March 1962 (Indian National Congress)
Violet alva 19 April 1962 to 02 April 1966 (Indian National Congress)
Violet alva 07 April 1966 to 16 November 1969 (Indian National Congress)
Bhaurao Devaji Khobragade 17 December 1969 to 02 April 1972 (Republican Party of India)
Gode ​​Murhari 04 April 1972 to 02 April 1974 (United Samajwadi Party)
Gode ​​Murhari 26 April 1974 to 20 March 1977 (United Socialist Party)
Ram Niwas Mirdha 30 March 1977 to 04 April 1980 (Indian National Congress)
Shyam Lal Yadav 30 July 1980 to 04 April 1982 (Indian National Congress)
Shyam Lal Yadav 28 April 1982 to 29 December 1984 (Indian National Congress)
Najma Heptulla 25 January 1985 to 20 January 1986 (Indian National Congress)
M. M. Jacob 02 February 1986 to 22 October 1986 (Indian National Congress)
Pratibha Devi Singh Patil 18 November 1986 to 05 November 1988 (Indian National Congress)
Najma Heptulla 11 November 1988 to 04 July 1992 (Indian National Congress)
Najma Heptulla 10 July 1992 to 04 July 1998 (Indian National Congress)
Najma Heptulla 09 July 1998 to 10 June 2004 (Indian National Congress)
K. Rehman Khan 22 July 2004 to 02 April 2006 (Indian National Congress)
K. Rehman Khan 12 May 2006 to 02 April 2012 (Indian National Congress)
PJ Kurien 21 August 2012 to 01 July 2018 (Indian National Congress)
Harivansh Narayan Singh 09 August 2018 till date [National Democratic Alliance (NDA)]

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 24 Jan 2024
  Post Views :  21760
  Post Category :  Indian Politics