History of Bharatiya Janata Party and its President:

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is a major political party in India. The current president of this party is Rajnath Singh. Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha is the youth organization of this party. This party started with a Hindu agenda. The formation of the party was completed on 6 April 1980 as the reorganized Jan Sangh. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was elected as its first president. Most of the members in this party joined the erstwhile Jana Sangh, which merged with the Janata Party in 1977.

Along with this some non-Jana Sanghis also joined it. In the elections that were held after the formation of this party, this party did not get relatively success and in the General Election of 1984, two members of this party were elected to the Lok Sabha. The party got substantial success in the 1989 elections and the 1991 Lok Sabha mid-term elections.

History of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP): The Bharatiya Janata Party was founded in 1980. Earlier from 1977 to 1979 it was known as 'Bharatiya Jana Sangh' with 'Janata Party' and before that as 'Bharatiya Jana Sangh' from 1951 to 1977. The history of Bharatiya Janata Party can be divided into three different parts-

  • Bharatiya Jana Sangh
  • Janata Party
  • Bharatiya Janata Party

Bharatiya Jana Sangh: 'Bharatiya Jana Sangh' was founded by Syama Prasad Mookerjee in 1951. The party did not get much success in the first general election, but it did manage to establish its identity. From the very beginning, the Bharatiya Jana Sangh had given special emphasis on issues like the unity of Kashmir, cow-protection, zamindari system and ending permit-license-quota raj etc.

Janata Party: The Congress had to face defeat in the elections held after the end of the Emergency in 1977. Then Morarji Desai became the Prime Minister and Atal Bihari Vajpayee of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh was made the External Affairs Minister and LK Advani the Information and Broadcasting Minister. But this government could not last long, because due to mutual factionalism and fighting, the government fell within thirty months.

Bharatiya Janata Party: The divided Janata Party was defeated in the 1980 elections. The Bharatiya Jana Sangh separated from the Janata Party and now took its new name 'Bharatiya Janata Party'. At this time the party was passing through the phase of sunset. Atal Bihari Vajpayee was made the President of the party. The first session of the Bharatiya Janata Party was held in Mumbai in December 1980. The BJP continued its opposition with the Congress and criticized the then Indira Gandhi government over Punjab and Sri Lanka.

As of 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party is the largest party in the Indian Parliament by members, while it is the second largest party in the various state legislative assemblies. In March 2015, it became the world's largest party with the largest number of members. Its ideological and organizational structure is closely related to the Hindu nationalist Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh.

Let us know who has become the National President of BJP since its inception:-

Chairman's name Tenure
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 1980 to 1986
Lal Krishna Advani 1986 to 1991
Murli Manohar Joshi 1991 to 1993
Lal Krishna Advani 1993 to 1998
Kushabhau Thackeray 1998 to 2000
Bangaru Laxman 2000 to 2001
Jena Krishnamurthy 2001 to 2002
Venkaiah Naidu 2002 to 2004
Lal Krishna Advani 2004 to 2006
Rajnath Singh 2006 to 2009
Nitin Gadkari 2009 to 2013
Rajnath Singh 2013 to 2014
Amit Shah 2014 to 2020
Shri J.P. Nadda 2020  to Present

Read also:

  Last update :  Thu 27 Oct 2022
  Post Views :  14430
  Post Category :  Indian Politics