Major countries of the continent of Asia, capital and their currencies

Asia continent: Asia is the largest continent in the world in terms of both size and population, located in the northern hemisphere. In the west it shares borders with Europe, although there is no common and clear boundary between the two. Asia and Europe together are sometimes called Eurasia. The Asian continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea, the Dark Sea, the Arctic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean and the Indian Ocean. The Caucasus mountain range and the Ural Mountains naturally separate Asia from Europe. Some of the oldest human civilizations were born on this continent like Sumer, Indian civilization, Chinese civilization etc. China and India are also the two most populous countries in the world. Here is a list of the names of the major countries of the continent of Asia, their capitals and their currencies. Generally many questions related to this list are asked in competitive exams. If you are preparing for various competitive exams like: IAS, Teacher, UPSC, PCS, SSC, Bank, MBA and other government jobs, then you must know about the major countries of Asia, their capital and their currencies. 

List of major countries, capitals and their currencies in the continent of Asia:

Country name Their capital Currency name
Azerbaijan Baku Azerbaijani Manat
Afghanistan Kabul Afghani
Armenia Yerevan Dram
Indonesia Nusantara Rupee
Israel Jerusalem Israeli new shekel
Iraq Baghdad Iraqi Dinar
Iran Tehran Rial
Uzbekistan Tashkent Uzbekistan Som
North Korea Pyongyang Won
Northern Cyprus Nicosia Turkish Lira
Oman Muscat Omani Rial
Kazakhstan Nur Sultan Kazakhstani Tenge
Qatar Doha Rial
Cambodia Nam Penh Cambodian Riel
Kyrgyzstan Bishkek Som
Iraqi Kurdistan Erbil Iraqi Dinar
Kuwait Kuwait City Kuwaiti Dinar
Cocos (Keeling) Island West Island Australian Dollar
Christmas Island Fish Cove Flying Australian Dollar
China Beijing Yuan
Japan Tokyo Yen
Georgia Tbilisi Georgia Lari
Jordan Amman Jordan Dinar
Taiwan Taipei Dollar
Tajikistan Dushanba Somoni
Turkmenistan Ashgabat Turkmenistan Manati
Turkish Ankara Lira
Thailand Bangkok ThaiBehat
South Korea Seoul Won
Nepal Kanthmandu Rupee
Pakistan Islamabad Rupee
East Timor Dili US Dollar
Philippines Manila Peso
Bahraini Manama Bahraini Dinar
Bangladesh Dhaka Taka
Brunei Bandar Seri Begawan
India New Delhi Rupee
Bhutan Thimphu Gultum
Mongolia Ulaanbaatar Tugrik
Macau Macau Macau Pataca
Malaysia Kuala Lumpur Dollar
Maldives Male Maldives Rufiyaa
Myanmar (Burma) Naypyidaw (Naypyidaw) Kyat
Yemen Sana Yemeni Rial
Laos Vientiane Lao Funnel
Lebanese Beirut Pound
vietnam Vhanoi Dong
Sri Lanka Colombo, Sri Jayawardenapura-Kotti Rupee
Saudi Arabia Riyadh Saudi Riyal

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Asia Continent GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:


The currency of Thailand is Thai Baht. It is divided into 100 satangs. The Thai Baht currency is issued by the Bank of Thailand. As of October 2014, the Thai baht is the tenth most widely used payment currency in the world.

The capital of Malaysia is Kuala Lumpur, it is the residence of the King of Malaysia. Apart from this, the city is also recognized by the Petronas Twin Towers, which are visible from a small height from anywhere in the city of Kuala Lumpur. Putrajaya, the administrative capital, has been built at a distance of half an hour from Kuala Lumpur.

The currency of Japan is yen. It is the third largest traded currency. It is used as a reserve currency after the US dollar, euro and pound sterling.

Riyal is called the currency of Saudi Arabia. The Riyal is issued by the Saudi Arabian Monetary Authority (SAMA). One Riyal is made up of 100 Halal.

The currency of Myanmar is the kyat currency. The word Kyat is derived from the ancient Burmese unit Kyatha, which is equal to 16.3 grams of silver. It is abbreviated by the English language script using the Roman letter "K", and is written before the denomination of the note.

  Last update :  Mon 29 Aug 2022
  Post Views :  39232
  Post Category :  World Economics