Europe continent:

The continent of Europe is one of the 7 continents of the world. The area of ​​the continent of Europe is 1,04,98,000 square kilometres. Europe is well connected to the continent of Asia. Europe is divided from Asia by the watersheds of the Ural Mountains to the east, such as the Ural River, the Caspian Sea, the Caucasus Mountains, and the Black Sea to the southwest. Europe is bordered by the Arctic Ocean and other water bodies to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Mediterranean Sea to the south, and the Black Sea and its associated waterways to the southwest. Here is a list of the names of the major countries of the continent of Europe, their capitals and their currencies. Generally many questions related to this list are asked in competitive exams. If you are preparing for various competitive exams like: IAS, Teacher, UPSC, PCS, SSC, Bank, MBA and other government jobs, then you must know about the major countries of Europe, their capital and their currencies. 

List of major countries, capitals and their currencies in the continent of Europe:

Country name Their capital Currency name
Andorra Andorra-la-Bella Euro
Albania Tirana Lake
Iceland Reykjavík Krona
Italy Rome Euro
Estonia Tallinn Euro
Austria Vienna Euro
Kosovo Pristina Euro
Croatia Zagreb Kuna
Czech Republic Prague Czech Krona
Germany Berlin Euro
Denmark Copenhagen Danish Krone
Netherlands (Holland) Amsterdam (Amsterdam) Euro
Norway Oslo Norwegian Krone
Portugal Lisbon Euro
Poland Warsaw New Zloty
Finland Helsinki Euro
France Paris Euro
Bulgaria Sofia Lev
Belarus Minsk Belarusian Ruble
Belgium Brussels Euro
Bosnia-Herzegovina Sarajevo Change Mark
Montenegro Podgorica Euro
Malta Belletta Euro
Macedonia Skopje Denar
Moldova Chisnau Leu
Monaco Monaco Euro
Ukraine Kyiv hryvnia
United Kingdom London Pound Sterling
Greece Athens Euro
Russia Moscow Ruble
Romania Bucharest (Moscow) Rumenian Leu
Luxembourg Luxembourg Euro
Latvia Riga Euro
Lithuania Vilnius Euro
Liechtenstein Vaduz Swiss Franc
Serbia Belgrade Serbian Dinar
San Marino San Marino Euro
Spain Madrid Euro
Slovakia Bratislava Euro
Slovenia Ljubljana Euro
Switzerland Berne Swiss Franc
Sweden Stockholm Swedish Krona
Hungary Budapest Forint
Holy See Vatican City Euro

Important facts about the continent of Europe:

  • The continent of Europe is the second smallest continent in the world in terms of surface area.
  • The continent of Europe, the continent of Asia, is completely connected.
  • The Caucasus Mountains separate these two continents.
  • Russia is the largest country in the continent of Europe by area and population, while the Vatican City is the smallest country.
  • London is the largest city on the continent of Europe.
  • The highest peak of this continent is Mount Elbrus, it is in Russia.
  • Europe is the third most populous continent in terms of population after Asia and Africa.
  • Switzerland, located in this continent, is known for manufacturing the most beautiful watches.
  • The most beautiful city in the world, Paris is located in the continent of Europe.
  • Germany and France are the main iron producing countries of the continent of Europe.
  • The Orient Railroad is the most important railroad in the continent of Europe.
  • The world's largest palace 'Battle' is located in the continent of Europe itself.
  • The world's longest tunnel 'Mount Block', which is built between France and Italy, is in this continent itself.
  • The Republic of Ukraine, located in the continent of Europe, is called the world's 'grain store' or 'bread nugget'.

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Continent of Europe GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Country, Capital and Currency FAQs:

The official currency of Mexico is the Mexican peso, while that of South Korea is the South Korean won, Italy's euro and Japan's yen.

The currency of Macau is called "Pataca". The pataca is the official currency of Macau and its symbol is MOP. The pataca is used for business and financial transactions in Macau. There are two units involved in making Pataka – Awo (Avo) and Malwana (Macau).

Bern is the capital of Switzerland and Zurich is its largest city.

The capital of Malaysia is Kuala Lumpur, it is the residence of the King of Malaysia. Apart from this, the city is also recognized by the Petronas Twin Towers, which are visible from a small height from anywhere in the city of Kuala Lumpur. Putrajaya, the administrative capital, has been built at a distance of half an hour from Kuala Lumpur.

The yuan is the official currency of China, but not in Hong Kong and Macao. The yuan is also known as the renminbi, which means "the people's currency".

  Last update :  Tue 16 Aug 2022
  Post Views :  37721
  Post Category :  World Economics