Gupta Rulers of Indian History And Their Records:

The republican polity collapsed during the time of the Gupta emperors. The Gupta administration was based on the monarchical system. The doctrine of divinity was prevalent among the Gupta rulers. Rajpada was based on the hereditary principle. The king declared his eldest son as the Prince.

At the time of his heyday, the Gupta Empire extended from the Himalayas in the north to the Vinghya Parvat in the south and from the Bay of Bengal in the east to Saurashtra in the west.

List of Gupta rulers and their inscriptions in Indian history:

Name of ruler Related records
Samudragupta (335-375 AD) Prayag Prashasti, Eran Prashasti, Nalanda, Gaya Copper Rule articles.
Chandragupta II (375-414 AD) Mathura Pillar Inscription, First and Second Guha Edict of Udayagiri, First Inscription of Garhwa, Sanchi Inscription, Mehrauli Prashasti.
Kumaragupta Mahendraditya (414-455E) Bilsad pillar inscription, Second inscription of Garhwa, Third inscription of Garhwa, Third inscription of Udayagiri, Dhandaih inscription, Jain idol inscription of Mathura, Tumain inscription, Mandsaur inscription, Karmadanda Linga inscription, Kulaikuri copper inscription, Damodarpur first and second copper inscription, Baigram copper inscription, Mankunwar Buddhamurti Article.
Skandagupta Junagadh citation, Kahav pillar inscription, Supiya pillar inscription, Indore copper inscription, Bhitari pillar inscription.
Kumaragupta II Sarnath Buddhamurti article.
Purugupta (467-476 AD) Bihar column article
Buddhagupta Sarnath Buddha statue inscription, Pahadpur copper inscription, Rajghat (Varanasi), pillar inscription, Nandpur copper inscription
Vainyagupta The Gunaidhar (Tipra) copper plate.
Bhanugupta Eran column.
Vishnugupta The fifth Damodargupta copper inscription.

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Gupta Rulers of India GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Gupta Empire FAQs:

Gupta period Navratna Chandragupta was in the court of Vikramaditya. The names of the Navratnas of Vikramaditya are as follows- Dhanvantari, Kshapanak, Amarsingh, Shanku, Betal Bhatt, Ghatkharpar, Kalidas, Varahmihir and Varruchi.

The Gupta dynasty was a Hindu kingdom of India. Who ruled almost the entire Indian subcontinent. This period is considered by historians as the Golden Age of India.

That king of the Gupta dynasty was Skandagupta Vikramaditya who stopped the Hunas from invading India. He has an important contribution in defeating the Hunas and in making India back a Chakraborty kingdom.

The first "great" emperor of the Gupta dynasty was Chandragupta Vikramaditya. He was the founder and foremost emperor of the Gupta dynasty. Chandragupta Vikramaditya established an extended empire during his reign and became famous in Indian history for his impressive victories.

Vishnugupta is generally considered to be the last recognized ruler of the Gupta Empire. Vishnugupta is another name of the famous Acharya Chanakya of the Maurya period in Indian history. Chanakya is also known as Kautilya in history.

  Last update :  Fri 7 Oct 2022
  Post Views :  13121
  Post Category :  Ancient Indian History