General knowledge about Kabir Samman:

What is National Kabir Samman and why is it given?

The Department of Culture, Government of Madhya Pradesh has instituted 'All India Awards' and state level awards to honor excellence and excellence in literature and creative arts, to develop national standards in literature and arts. To honor excellence and creation at the national level, the Madhya Pradesh government has instituted the National Kabir Samman for Indian poetry.

This award has been instituted in the name of the great saint poet Kabir, because he composed many works centuries ago and gave new boldness to the society. He is still one of the most popular poets of India.

Quick Info About Kabir Samman:

Category of award Literature
Establishment year 1986
Prize money Three lakh rupees
First winner Gopal Krishna adamant
last winner Mr. Manoj Srivastava (2020)

Prize money given in Kabir Samman:

The person honored under Kabir Samman was earlier given a cash amount of one lakh fifty thousand rupees and a plaque of honor by the Culture Department of the Government of Madhya Pradesh, but now he is given three lakh rupees in cash and honor. plaque is provided.

Selection Process:

The criteria of creativity, excellence and long practice have been fixed for the National Kabir Samman. There is a definite process of selection. There is a participation of experts at all levels and care is taken that on the one hand, extensive opinion polls about literary achievements are available for reference. On the other hand, the poet to be respected is selected by experts with integrity and discretion with complete objectivity, objectivity and fearlessness on the basis of such criteria, which are dependent on life-vision, art discipline and aesthetic sense.

List of Kabir Samman winners from the year 1986-2023:

Year Recipient name
1986 Shri Gopal Krishna Adig
1987 Shri Subhash Mukhopadhyay
1988 Dr. Harbhajan Singh
1989 Shri Shamsher Bahadur Singh
1990 Shri Vinda Karandikar
1991 Shri Harindra Dave
1992 Shri Ramakant Rath
1995 Shri Navkant Baruah
1996 Shri K. Ayyappa Panicker
1997 Shri Shankho Ghosh
1998 Shri Sitanshu Yashasvandra
1999 Shri Narayan Surve
2000 Shri Sitakanta Mohapatra
2001 Shri Kunwar Narayan
2002 Dr. Chandrashekhar Kambar
2003 Shri A. Rehman Rahi
2004 Shri Govind Chandra Pandey
2005 Shri Ashok Vajpayee
2006 Shri Akkitham Achuthan Namboodiri
2007 Dr. Padma Sachdev
2008 Shri Mangesh Padgaonkar, Mumbai
2009 undecided
2010 -
2011 -
2012 Alokranjan Dasgupta is a Bengali poet, author of over 20 books of poetry. He has translated Bengali and Santhal poetry and plays into English and German, and has also translated literature from German and French into Bengali.
2013 Reva Prasad Dwivedi - Professor Emeritus of BHU and Sanskrit poet Prof. Reva Prasad Dwivedi was honored with the National Kabir Samman on Friday by the Department of Culture, Government of Madhya Pradesh.
2014 Pratibha Satpathy is an eminent poetess of Odia literature. He has been recognized as one of the foremost poets of the country and has been awarded the National Kabir Samman and the Sahitya Akademi Award
2015 Attur Ravi Varma - Attur Ravi Varma was a well-known poet and translator of Malayalam language. His major works are as follows: Kavita, Attur Ravi Varmayede Kavitakal, J.J. Chilla Kurippukal, Oru Pulimarathinte Katha, Naale Mattoru Nala Mataram, Randam Yamangalude Katha and Puthunanuru etc.
2016 K. Siva Reddy - Siva Reddy is a popular Telugu language mimicry artist, comedian and actor. He has acted in more than 100 movies in Tollywood.
2017 Naresh Saxena - Naresh Saxena is a popular Hindi language mimicry artist, poetry, drama, script writing, film direction  Is. He received his first honour, the National Film Award in the year 1992, after which Hindi Sahitya Sammelan's honour, Shamsher Samman Prapat.
2018  Gorti Vekanna - The award for 2018 was conferred on Telugu poet Gorti Vekanna, a well-known poet and translator.
2019 Vinay Rajaram 
2020 Shri Manoj Srivastava- Manoj Srivastava has written about 36 books on various subjects in Hindi language. His major works include Context and Value in Education, Pashupati, Swar Ankit, Karan Poems, Maa, Hiranyagarbha, Sati Prasang.

Read also:

  Last update :  Thu 16 Mar 2023
  Post Views :  22271
  Post Category :  Literature Award