Saraswati Samman Winners (1991 to 2023)

What is Saraswati Samman?

Saraswati Samman K. K. Literature award given by Birla Foundation. This award is given annually to literary works published in the last 10 years by Indian writers of languages included in the Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution.

Brief description of Saraswati Samman:

Category of award Literature
Establishment year 1991
Prize money 15 lakh rupees
First winner Harivanshrai Bachchan
Last winner Sivasankari (2022)

Saraswati Samman 2022 Winner:

Tamil writer Sivasankari is the recipient of the prestigious Saraswati Samman Award for the year 2022 for her 2019 memoir, Surya Vamsam, announced by the Foundation in October 2023. In which he was given a cash prize of Rs 15 lakh, a plaque and a citation.

Information about Shivshankari

Shivashankari is a prolific writer, with a career spanning more than 50 years, during which she has written 36 novellas, 48 novellas, 150 short stories, 15 travelogues, seven collections of essays and three biographies, one of which is on East Indian Prime Minister Indira Gandhi is also included. His literary contributions have been widely recognized, and his works have been translated into several Indian languages, as well as English, Japanese, and Ukrainian.

One of Sivasankari's greatest contributions to Indian literature is his four-volume work, 'Knit India Through Literature', which shows the literary giant's perspective in 18 languages, as told through his stories and interviews. is expressed. Eight of her novels have been adapted into films directed by renowned filmmakers, and she has won several awards for her writing, including national and regional 'Best Mega Serial' awards for her novel 'Kutti', which revolves around girls. Explores the issue of labor and child labour.

Features and important facts of Saraswati Samman:

  • In Saraswati Samman, a shawl, citation, insignia and an honorarium of fifteen lakh rupees are given.
  • Saraswati Samman was started in 1991.
  • The first Saraswati Samman was given to Hindi litterateur Dr. Harivansh Rai Bachchan for his four-volume autobiography.
  • Dogri litterateur Padma Sachdev was given the prestigious Saraswati Samman for the year 2015 for her autobiography Chitta-Chet.
  • Eminent Konkani litterateur Mahabaleshwar Sail was selected for the Saraswati Samman for the year 2016. He was given this honor for his novel 'Houghton'.
  • On April 27, 2018, the famous Gujarati poet Sitanshu Yashaschandra was selected for the 27th Saraswati Samman for the year 2017. Sitanshu Yashaschandra will be given this honor for his poetry collection 'Vakhar'. This book was published in the year 2009.
  • On April 10, 2019, the famous Telugu poet Dr.K. Siva Reddy has been selected for the 28th Saraswati Samman for the year 2018, he will be given this honor for his
  • poetry collection 'Pakki Ottigilite'. Which was published in the year 2016.
  • On 16 January 2020, famous Sindhi writer Vasdev Mohi was awarded the 29th Saraswati Samman, he has been given this honor for his famous Sindhi speaking story "Check Book".

List of Saraswati Samman winners since 1991 till date:

Year Name of the author Work/Novel/Poetry
2022 Shivashankari "Surya Vansam" (memoir)
2021 Ramdarsh Mishra I am here (poem collection)
2020 Dr. Sharankumar Limbale Sanatan
2019 Vasdev Mohi Check Book (Sindhi speaking story)
2018 K Shiva Reddy Pakka Ottigilite (poetry collection)
2017 Shitanshu Yashchandra Vakhaar (poetry collection)
2016 Mahabaleshwar Cell Houghton (novel)
2015 Padma Sachdev Chitta-Chet (Autobiography)
2014 Veerappa Moily Ramayana Mahanveshanam (Poem)
2013 Govind Mishra On Dust Plants (novel)
2012 Sugatha (Sugatha) Kumari Manalezhuthu (poetry collection)
2011 A.A. Manavalan Irma Kathaiyum Iramaikalam
2010 S.L. Bhairappa Novel 'Mandra' (Kannada)
2009 Surjit Patar Lafzon Di Dargah
2008 Lakshmi Nandan Bora Taos Chaman's Myna (Short Story Collection)
2007 Nair Masood Taos Chaman's Myna (Short Story Collection)
2006 Jagannath Prasad Das Parikrama (poetry collection)
2005 Prof. K Ayyappa Panicker Ayyappa Panikarude Critical (Poetry Collection)
2004 Sunil Gangopadhyay Bhagirathi (poem collection)
2003 Prof. Govind Chandra Pandey Bhagirathi (poem collection)
2002 Mahesh Elkunchwar Yugaant (game)
2001 Daleep Kaur Tiwana Katha Kaho Urvashi (Novel)
2000 Manoj Das Amrita Phala (novel)
1999 Indira Parthasarathy Ramanujar (drama)
1998 Prof. Shankh Ghosh Gandharva Kabita Guchha (poetry collection)
1997 Manubhai Pancholi 'Darshak' Kurukshetra (Gujarati)
1996 Shamsurrahman Farooqui Sher'e Shor-Anzez (Urdu)
1995 Balamani Amma Nivedyam (poetry collection)
1994 Haribhajan Singh Rukh Te Rishi (poetry collection)
1993 Vijay Tendulkar Kanyadan (drama)
1992 Ramakant Rath Shri Radha (poem)
1991 Harivansh Rai Bachchan Autobiography (autobiography) in four volumes

Read also:

  Last update :  Fri 13 Oct 2023
  Post Views :  34161
  Post Category :  Literature Award