Major newspapers published in India:

What is a newspaper called?

Newspaper is a collection of news from all over the world, which gives us information about all the happenings in the world. In this mainly the information of latest events, sports, personality, politics, advertisement is printed on cheap paper. Newspapers occupy an important place in the means of communication.

History of India's Newspapers:

The history of newspapers in India begins with the entry of Europeans into India. The Portuguese are credited with first bringing the printing press to India. In 1557 AD, some clergy of Goa published the first book of India. In 1684 AD, the British East India Company also printed India's first book. In 1684 AD, the company established the first printing press in India.

List of major newspapers published in India:

Newspaper Cities Names
Jansatta (Hindi) Kolkata, Delhi, Mumbai, Chandigarh
Hindustan (Hindi) Delhi, Patna, Lucknow, Varanasi
Vishwamitra (Hindi) Mumbai, Kanpur, Kolkata, Patna
Rashtriya Sahara (Hindi) Delhi, Lucknow, Gorakhpur
Dainik Jagran (Hindi) Kanpur, Banaras, Patna, Lucknow, Meerut
Daily Today (Hindi) Varanasi, Patna, Gorakhpur
New World (Hindi) Delhi, Indore, Bhopal, Gwalior, Jabalpur, Raipur, Bilaspur
Hindustan Times (English) Delhi, Patna
Times of India (English) Delhi, Patna, Mumbai, Ahmedabad
The Hitavad (English) Nagpur
Pioneer (English) Lucknow, Kanpur
Statesman (English) New Delhi, Kolkata
Amrit Bazaar Patrika (English) Kolkata
Tribune (English) Ambala, Chandigarh
Patriot (English) Delhi
Deccan Chronicle (English) Bangalore
Blitz (Marathi) Mumbai
Hindustan Standard (Bangla) Kolkata
Akali Patrika (Punjabi) Jalandhar
Dinavandi (Tamil) Madurai, Coimbatore
Malayalam Manorama (Malayalam) Thiruvananthapuram
Hari Bhoomi (Hindi) Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh
Navbharat Times (Hindi) Mumbai, Delhi
Punjab Kesari (Hindi) Delhi, Jalandhar
Veer Arjun (Hindi) Delhi
Amar Ujala (Hindi) Agra, Bareilly, Meerut
Amrit Prabhat (Hindi) Allahabad, Lucknow
Rajasthan Patrika (Hindi) Jaipur, Bangalore
Dainik Bhaskar (Hindi) Bhopal
The Hindu (English) Chennai, Coimbatore, Delhi
Indian Express (English) Delhi, Mumbai, Lucknow
Financial Express (English) Mumbai, Delhi
Economic Times (English) Mumbai
Independent India (English) Lucknow
Assam Tribune (English) Guwahati
The Telegraph (English) Kolkata
Northern India (English) Lucknow, Allahabad
Deccan Harold (English) Bangalore
Saamana (Marathi) Mumbai
Nutan Assamese (Assamese) Guwahati
Mathrubhumi (Malayalam) Kozhikote
Tej (Urdu) Delhi
Dinamalar (Tamil) Chennai, Madurai
Prabhat Khabar (Hindi) Ranchi, Jamshedpur, Kolkata, Deoghar
New World (Hindi) Delhi, Indore, Bhopal, Bilaspur, Raipur, Ujjain

Important noteworthy facts of newspapers of India:

  • The first Indian English newspaper was published in Calcutta in 1816 AD by Gangadhar Bhattacharya under the name 'Bengal Gazette'. It was a weekly newspaper.
  • In 1818 AD, under the leadership of Marshman, a monthly paper 'Director' was published in the Bengali language, but this letter proved to be short-lived. At the same time another weekly newspaper Samachar Darpan was published under the editing of Marshman.
  • In 1821 AD, the weekly newspaper 'Samvad Kaumudi' was published in Bengali language. The management of this newspaper was in the hands of Raja Rammohun Roy.
  • The first Hindi newspaper of India was 'Udant Martand'.

Read also:

  Last update :  Mon 7 Nov 2022
  Post Views :  17256
  Post Category :  Miscellaneous GK of India