Who is the Parliament?

Meaning of Parliament: In modern politics and history, a parliament is a legislative body of government. Generally, a modern parliament has three functions: representing the electorate, making laws, and overseeing the government through hearings and inquiries.

Indian Parliament (Parliament):

Parliament is the supreme legislative body of India. The Indian Parliament consists of two houses: Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

  • Lok Sabha (House of the People): Lok Sabha consists of representatives elected by the people of the country, whose maximum number is 552. The term of the members of Lok Sabha is 5 years.
  • Rajya Sabha (Council of States): Rajya Sabha is a permanent house with a maximum number of 250 members. The members of the Rajya Sabha are elected or nominated for 6 years, with 1/3 of the members retiring every 2 years.

According to the Indian Constitution, the President is the supreme citizen of the country. The President of the country has the power to summon or adjourn either of the Houses of Parliament or to dissolve the Lok Sabha. The Indian Parliament is conducted in the 'Sansad Bhawan', which is located in the capital of the country, New Delhi. Today, through this post, you will get information about the names of the parliaments of the major countries of the world, often questions related to the names of the parliaments of the major countries of the world are asked in various competitive exams. If you are also preparing for various competitive exams like: IAS, Teacher, UPSC, PCS, SSC, Bank, MBA and other government jobs, then you must know about the names of parliaments of major countries of the world.

List of parliaments of major countries of the world:-

Country name Name of parliament
Afghanistan National Assembly (Shora)
Andorra General Council
Albania People's Assembly
Azerbaijan National Assembly (Meli Majlis)
Algeria National People's Assembly
Angola National People's Assembly
Argentina National congress
Australia Federal parliament
Austria National Assembly
Bahamas General assembly
Bahrain Advisor council
Bangladesh Caste parliament
Belize National Assembly
Bhutan Tsongdu
Bolivia National congress
Brazil National congress
Brunei National Assembly
Botswana National Assembly
Britain Parliament (House of Commons and House of Lords)
Bulgaria Narondo subraniae
Cambodia National Assembly
Democratic Congo National legislative council republic
Colombia Congress
Canada Parliament
China National People's Congress
Chile Anthony and the Chamber of the Senate
Comoros Legislative Council and Senate
Costa Rica Legislative Council and Senate
Croatia Sabor
Cuba National Assembly of the People's Power
Republica Checa Chamber of Deputies and Senate
Denmark Folketing
Ecuador National congress
El Salvador Legislative Assembly
East Timor Constituent Assembly
Ethiopia Federal Council and House of Representatives
Egypt People's Assembly
Fiji Islands Senate and House of Representatives
France National Assembly
Finland Eduskusta (Parliament)
Germany Bundestag (lower house), Bundesrat (upper house)
Guyana National Assembly
Greece Chamber of Deputies
Hungary National Assembly
Iceland Althing
India Parliament
Indonesia People's Consultative Assembly
Iran Majlis
Iraq National Assembly
Israel Nesset
Italy Chamber of Deputies and Senate
Japan Diet
Jordan National Assembly
North Korea Supreme People's Assembly
South Korea National Assembly
Kuwait National Assembly
Kenya National Assembly
Laos People's Supreme Assembly
Lebanon National Assembly
Lesotho National Assembly and Senate
Lithuania Seamus
Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies
Liberia National Assembly
Libya General People's Congress
Malaysia Negara Dewan Rakyat and Dewan Negara
Maldives Majlis
Madagascar National People's Assembly
Mongolia Great People's Khural
Montenegro Federal assembly
Mozambique People's Assembly
Myanmar Pyithu haluta
Nepal National panchayat
Netherlands State general
Norway Storting
New Zealand Parliament (House of Representatives)
Oman Monarchy
Pakistan National Assembly and Senate
Paraguay Senate and Chamber of Deputies
Philippines Congress

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Parliament GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Countries Parliament FAQs:

The Parliament of Japan is called the Diet. The National Diet of Japan is the bicameral legislature there. Its lower house is called the House of Representatives of Japan and the upper house is called the House of Councillors. Both houses are elected by parallel voting.

Parliamentary system in India is also known as cabinet government or cabinet system or responsible government. It is also called prime ministerial government where the head of the political administration is the prime minister.

The British parliamentary system is considered to be the mother of parliamentary democratic systems in the world, this system created from centuries of rules, statutes, statutes, and treaties has been an inspiration for the legislative system of many parliamentary democratic countries of the world.

The Attorney General of India has the right to address the Parliament. Article 76 states that the Attorney General of India is the chief legal advisor to the Government of India, and its primary counsel in the Supreme Court of India.

Dadabhai Naoroji was the first Indian to become a member of the British Parliament. He was elected for the Liberal Party in Finsbury Central in the 1892 general election, the first British Indian MP.

  Last update :  Thu 8 Sep 2022
  Post Views :  16599
  Post Category :  World Politics