list of commonwealth countries

What is or what is the Commonwealth called?

The Commonwealth of Nations is an intergovernmental organization of 53 independent countries. This organization is a group of countries that were once under the British Empire. The headquarters of the Commonwealth is located in London (UK). Although Mozambique and Rwanda have never been slaves to the British Empire, they are members of the Commonwealth, unlike the United States, which was once a British Empire but is not a member of the Commonwealth. Its main objective is to promote democracy, literacy, human rights, better governance, free trade and world peace.

When was the Commonwealth established?

The modern Commonwealth was formed on 28 April 1949 by eight countries. These were the countries; United Kingdom, Australia, India, South Africa, Canada, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Pakistan.

What is the job of the Commonwealth?

The main goal of the Commonwealth is to protect the interests of all Commonwealth citizens, to make efforts to raise their standard of living and to raise their issues in the international forum. The working language of the Commonwealth is English In countries where India does not have an embassy and any Indian citizen in need of any assistance (being a member of the Commonwealth of India) is entitled to seek help from the UK Embassy. The total population of the Commonwealth is approximately 2.4 billion, which includes both developed and developing countries. The Commonwealth's 30 members are small countries, many of which are island nations, with 19 countries being the highest from the continent of Africa, followed by 13 from the continents of North and South America, 11 from the Pacific, 07 from the Pacific region. Only 03 countries from Asia continent and Europe continent.

Commonwealth Summit 2018:

The Commonwealth Summit 2018 was held in London in April 2018. The summit was attended by leaders of more than 50 countries. The theme of the summit was 'Towards a Common Future'. Representatives from 53 Commonwealth countries participated in this biennial event. The Commonwealth Summit takes place every other year. Britain had previously hosted CHOGM in 1997. For the first time, Buckingham Palace and Windsor Castle, the official residences of Queen Elizabeth II, have been selected as the venue for the conference.

List of all Commonwealth member states:

Asian countries:

  • India (1947)
  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Malaysia (1957)
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka (1948)

African countries:

  • Botswana
  • Cameron (1995)
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana (1957)
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique (1995)
  • Namibia (1990)
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra leone
  • South Africa
  • Swaziland
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Zambia

American countries:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Granada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • St. Kitts & Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent & de Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago

European Countries:

  • Cyprus
  • Malta
  • United Kingdom

Pacific Countries:

  • Australia
  • Fiji Islands
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru (2000)
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga

Read also:

  Last update :  Mon 26 Jun 2023
  Post Views :  20102
  Post Category :  World Politics