International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO):

The International Civil Aviation Organization is an agency of the United Nations that determines the principles and techniques of international air shipping and the development and planning of international air traffic so as to ensure safe and orderly development. Its headquarters are located in the Quartier International District in Montreal, Canada. Currently Tayyeb Sheriff of Algeria is the Secretary General of the International Civil Aviation Organization. International Civil Aviation Day is celebrated on 07 December with the aim of highlighting the importance of civil aviation for socio-economic development around the world.

History of International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO):

The International Civil Aviation Organization was established through a treaty signed in Chicago on December 07, 1944. The treaty came into force on 4 April 1947 and replaced the Air Traffic Regulation Agreement concluded in October 1919. The purpose of ICAO is to encourage international cooperation in the development of techniques and principles of air operation and transport. The membership of this organization is 185 and its headquarter is in Montreal (Canada). Sabha and Parishad are the main organs of this organization. All the members are represented in the assembly and it meets once in three years. In the meeting of the assembly, the general policy is determined, the members of the council are elected and the budget is approved. The council consists of a total of 33 members, who are elected by the assembly for a three-year term.

Functions of the International Civil Aviation Organization:

The task of this organization is to provide assistance in the field of international civil aviation by establishing technical standards for effective and safe air transport and to encourage simpler procedures at air borders. The organization develops regional plans for ground services and facilities required for international flight, distributes air traffic statistics, prepares studies on the economic aspects of aviation, and promotes the development of air law agreements. It provides technical assistance for air aviation programs in developing areas. The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) plays a key role in initiating international action in areas such as meteorology, air traffic control, communications and transportation facilities. ICAO's involvement in the areas of leasing or leasing of aircraft, action against hijacking, air limit violations and reduction of noise generated by aircraft in the environment, etc., can be seen in the International Civil Aviation Organization. Organization) should be distinguished from the International Air Transport Association. It is an airline operator's trade association, incidentally also headquartered in Montreal.

Regions and Regional Offices of ICAO:

ICAO has 07 Regional Offices, serving 09 regions:

  1. Asia & Pacific, Bangkok, Thailand
  2. Middle East, Cairo, Egypt
  3. West and Central Africa, Dakar, Senegal
  4. South America, Lima, Peru
  5. North America, Central America and the Caribbean, Mexico City, Mexico
  6. East and South Africa, Nairobi, Kenya
  7. Europe and the North Atlantic, Paris, France

List of Secretary General of International Civil Aviation (ICAO):

  • Albert Roper (France) (1944–1951)
  • Karl Ljungberg (Sweden) (1952–1959)
  • Ronald McAllister McDonnell (Canada) (1959–1964)
  • Bernardus Teilman Twigt (Netherlands) (1964–1970)
  • Assad Kotat (Lebanon) (1970–1976)
  • Yves Lambert (France) (1976–1988)
  • Shivender Singh Sidhu (India) (1988–1991)
  • Philippe Rochat (Switzerland) (1991–1997)
  • Renato Claudio Costa Pereira (Brazil) (1997–2003)
  • Tayeb Sheriff (Algeria) (2003-2009)
  • Raymond Benjamin (France) (2009-2009)
  • Fang Liu (China) (2015 to August 2021)
  • Juan Carlos Salazar Gómez (Colombia) (posted August 2021)

List of Council Presidents:

  • Salvatore Sciacchetano (Italy) (2020-present)
  • Olumuiva Benard Aliu (Nigeria) (2013-2019)
  • Roberto Kobe Gonzalez (Mexico) (2006–2013)
  • Asad Kotaite (Lebanon) (1976–2006)
  • Walter Binaghi (Argentina) (1957–1976)
  • Edward Pearson Warner (United States) (1947–1957)

Members of International Civil Aviation (ICAO):

The following states were elected from the ICAO's 193 member states to the organization's 36-member Governing Council during the 2019 ICAO Assembly. Note = * means countries that are newly included in 2019 Part I - Countries of Major Importance in Air Transport Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and United States Americas Part II - The largest contributors to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation are Argentina, Colombia, Egypt, Finland*, India, Mexico, the Netherlands*, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa and Spain. Part III - Countries Ensuring Geographical Representation Costa Rica*, Cote d'Ivoire*, Dominican Republic*, Equatorial Guinea*, Greece*, Malaysia, Paraguay*, Peru*, Republic of Korea, Sudan*, Tunisia*, United Arab Emirates, Zambia*

Read also:

  Last update :  Fri 12 Aug 2022
  Post Views :  11037
  Post Category :  World Politics