Names and fields of Padma Awards 2016 winners:

Padma Awards- The country's highest civilian honors are given in the categories of Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. Remember, Padma Vibhushan is the second highest civilian award given by the Government of India after Bharat Ratna. At the same time, after Padma Vibhushan, the third civilian honor is Padma Bhushan and the fourth is Padma Shri.

These awards are given for arts, social work, matters of public interest, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports and civil services. Padma Vibhushan is given for exceptional and outstanding services. These awards are announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day. The Padma Awards are presented by the President at a function to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in March/April.

Important facts related to Padma Awards:

  • The Padma Award was instituted in the year 1954. The award is announced on every Republic Day except for the brief interruption years 1978-1979 and 1993-1997.
  • "Padma Vibhushan" is given for exceptional and distinguished service.
  • "Padma Bhushan" is given for distinguished service of excellent order.
  • "Padma Shri" is given for distinguished service in any field.
  • The Padma Award (Padma Vibhushan/Padma Bhushan) of the highest order is given to a person who has been awarded the Padma award at least five years ago.
  • The total number of Padma Awards in a year (excluding posthumous and foreigners) should not exceed 120.
  • The names of Padma awardees are published in the Gazette of India.
  • The President can cancel the award of any person.
  • The President gives a medal, seal and signed Sanad (certificate) under the award.
  • A brief description of each award winner in a commemorative brochure is issued on the day of the decoration ceremony.
  • A replica of the medal is also given to Padma awardees. Which they can wear during any formal/state functions.
  • This year the President has approved Padma awards to 112 persons. Following are the names of 10 Padma Vibhushan, 19 Padma Bhushan and 83 Padma Shri awardees in this list. Of these, 19 are women and 10 persons are foreigners, NRIs, PIOs.

    Padma Vibhushan Award 2016 winners:

    Winner's name Region
    Ms. Yamini Krishnamurthy Art - Classical Dance
    Mr. Rajinikanth Art Cinema
    Mrs. Girija Devi Art - Classical Singing
    Mr. Ramoji Rao Literature & Education- Journalism
    Dr. Vishwanathan Shantha Medicine- Oncology
    Shri Shri Ravishankar Other - Spirituality
    Mr Jagmohan Public Affairs
    Dr. Vasudev Kalkunte Atre Science Engineering
    Mr. Avinash Dixit Literature and Education (Foreign)
    Late Shri Dhirubhai Ambani Trade and Industry
    Padma Bhushan Award 2016 Winners:
    Winner's name Region
    Mr. Anupam Kher Art Cinema
    Shri Udit Narayan Jha Back-Singing
    Shri Ram V Sutar Art Sculpture
    Mr. Hisnam Kanhailal Art Theater
    Mr. Vinod Rai Civil Services
    Dr. Yarlagad Laxmi Prasad literature and Education
    Professor N S Ramanuj Tatacharya literature and Education
    Dr Barjinder Singh Hamdard Literature and Education-Journalism
    Professor D Nageswara Reddy Medicine - Gastroenterology
    Swami Tejomayananda Other Spirituality
    Shri Hafiz Contractor Other-Agriculture
    Shri Ravindra Chandra Bhargava Public Affairs
    Dr. Venkata Rama Rao Alla Science and Engineering
    Ms. Saina Nehwal Sports-Badminton
    Ms. Sania Mirza Sports Tennis
    Ms. Indu Jain Ttrade and Industry
    Late Swami Dayanand Saraswati (Posthumous) Other - Spirituality
    Mr. Robert Blackville Public Affairs (Foreigner)
    Shri Pallonji Shapoorji Mistry (NRI/PIO) Trade and Industry
    Padma Shri Award 2016 Winners:
    Winner's name Region
    Mrs. Pratibha Prahlad Classical Dance
    Mr. Bhikhudan Gadvi Art-Folk Music
    Mr. Sribhash Chandra Supakar Art Clothing Design
    Mr. Ajay Devgan Art Cinema
    Ms. Priyanka Chopra Art Cinema
    Pt. Tulsidas Borkar Art - Classical Music
    Dr. Soma Ghosh Art - Classical Music
    Mr. Neel Madhab Panda Art – Film Direction and Production
    Shri SS Rajamouli Art – Film Direction and Production
    Mr. Madhur Bhandarkar Art – Film Direction and Production
    Professor M Venkatesh Kumar Art - Folk Artist
    MS Pink Snake Charmer Art – Folk Dance
    Smt. Mamta Chandrakar Art - Folk Music
    Ms. Malini Awasthi Art - Folk Music
    Shri Jai Prakash Lekhiwal Art-Manicure Painting
    Shri K.Lakshma Gaur Art Painting
    Shri Bhalchandra Dattatreya Mondhe Art Photography
    Shri Naresh Chandra Lal Arts - Theater and Cinema
    Shri Dhirendra Nath Bezbarua literature and Education
    Shri Prahlad Chandra Tasa literature and Education
    Dr. Ravindra Nagar literature and Education
    Shri Dayabhai Shastri literature and Education
    Dr. Santhesivara Bhirappa literature and Education
    Mr. Halder Nag literature and Education
    Shra Kameswaram Brahma Literature and Education-Journalism
    Professor Pushpesh Pant Literature and Education-Journalism
    Mr. Jawaharlal Kaul Literature and Education-Journalism
    Mr. Ashok Malik Literature and Education
    Dr. Mannam Gopi Chand Medicine- Cardio Thoracic Surgery
    Professor Ravi Kant Medicine-Surgery
    Professor Ram Harsh Singh Medicine- Ayurveda
    Professor Shiv Narayan Kuril Medicine - Pediatric Surgery
    Dr. Sabya Saatchi Sarkar Medicine-Radiology
    Dr. Alla Gopal Krishna Gokhale Medicine- Cardiac Surgery
    Professor T K Lahiri Medicine- Cardio Thoracic Surgery
    Dr. Praveen Chandra Medicine- Cardiology
    Professor (Dr. Daljit Singh Gambhir Medicine- Cardiology
    Dr Chandra Shekhar Seshadri Thoguluva Medicine- Gastroenterology
    Dr. Smt. Anil Kumari Malhotra Medicine-Homeopathy
    Professor MV Padma Shrivastava Medicine- Neurology
    Dr. Sudhar V Shah Medicine- Neurology
    Dr. M M Joshi Medicine-Ophthalmology
    Professor (Dr.) John Ebenezer Medicine - orthopedic surgery
    Dr. Nayudma Yarlgad Medicine - Pediatric Surgery
    Mr. Simon Oraon Other-Environmental Protection
    Mr. Imtiaz Qureshi Other- Cooking
    Mr. Piyush Pandey Other-Advertising & Communications
    Mr. Subhash Palekar Other-agriculture
    Mr. Ravindra Kumar Sinha Other Wildlife Conservation
    Dr H R Nagendra Other- Yoga
    Mr. MC Mehta Public Affairs
    Shri M N Krishna Mani Public Affairs
    Shri Ujjwal Nikam Public Affairs
    Mr. Tokheho Sema Public Affairs
    Dr. Satish Kumar Science and Engineering
    Dr. Millaswamy Annadurai Science and Engineering
    Professor Dipankar Chatterjee Science and Engineering
    Professor (Dr. Ganpit Dadasaheb Yadav) Science and Engineering
    Smt (Professor Veena Tandon) Science and Engineering
    Shri Omkar Nath Srivastava Science and Engineering
    Ms. Sunita Krishnan Social Work
    Shri Ajay Kunar Dutta Social Work
    Shri M. Pandit Dasa Social Work
    Shri P P Gopinathan Nair Social Work
    Mrs. Madeleine de Blick Social Work
    Sri Srinivasan Damal Kandalai Social Work
    Shri Sudhakar Olway Social Work
    Dr TV Narayan Social Work
    Sri Arunachalam Murugantham Social Work
    Ms. Deepika Kumari Sports-Archery
    Mr. Sushil Doshi Sports-Commentary
    Mr. Mahesh Sharma Trade & Industry
    Mr. Saurabh Srivastava Trade & Industry
    Shri Dilip Sanghvi Trade & Industry
    Dr. Keki Hormusji Gharada Trade & Industry
    Mr. Michael Postel Art-Archaeology (Foreigner)
    Shri Salman Amin Sal Khan Literature and Education (NRI/PIO)
    Mrs. Hui Lan Zhang(Foreign) Other-yoga (Foreigner)
    Mr. Pradrag's nikik Other-yoga (Foreigner)
    Dr. Sundar Aditya Menon Social Work
    Shri Ajaypal Singh Banga Trade and Industry (NRI/PIO)

    Read also:

      Last update :  Fri 9 Sep 2022
      Post Views :  7655
      Post Category :  Padma Awards