UNESCO-Madanjit Singh Awards Winners List

Information about UNESCO-Madanjit Singh Prize:

The UNESCO-Madanjit Singh Prize for Motion of Tolerance and Non-Violence is awarded by UNESCO every two years. It was inaugurated in 1996 by the donation of Madanjit Singh on the day of 1995 United Nations Year for Tolerance and the 125th anniversary of the birth of Mohandas Gandhi.

Objective of UNESCO-Madanjit Singh Prize:

The UNESCO-Madanjit Singh Prize for Tolerance and Nonviolence Award is dedicated to advancing the spirit of tolerance in the arts, education, culture, science and communication. In connection with the 125th anniversary of Gandhi's birth, UNESCO established a new international award, the UNESCO-Madanjit Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence.

In 1995, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization took the lead around the world in favor of tolerance, nonviolence, and appreciation of cultural diversity. The fiftieth anniversary of the United Nations was declared the United Nations Year for Tolerance. Events on the year's calendar included regional conferences and intergovernmental dialogue, music, film and theater festivals, essay and poster competitions, broadcasts and publications of all kinds in partnership with regional and non-governmental organizations.

History of UNESCO-Madanjit Singh Prize:

The award was made possible by donations from Indian artist, writer and diplomat Madanjit Singh, who was also a UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador. Madanjit Singh was a follower of Mahatma Gandhi, and served nine months in Mirzapur jail during the "Quit India" movement against British colonial rule. He received the "Tamra Patra" Freedom Fighter Award from the Government of India in 1972. In addition to a distinguished career in diplomacy and the arts, he has authored several books on topics ranging from Himalayan art to solar energy.

Recipients of the award:

Nominations of candidates are accepted from member state governments and national commissions of UNESCO, as well as from intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations affiliated with UNESCO. The Prejudices are selected by the Director-General of UNESCO on the recommendation of a jury composed of prominent international personalities. The award is presented every two years on 16 November for the annual International Day of Tolerance.

The year Name Description
2022 Franca Ma-ih Sulem Yong President of the NGO #Afrogiveness and Positive Youth Africa.
2018 Manon Barbeau Canadian filmmaker and president and founder of Wapconi Mobile
2018 The Coexist Initiative
Kenyan NGO (NGO)
2018 The Coexist Initiative Kenyan NGO (NGO)
2016 Federal Research and Methodology Center for Tolerance, Psychology and Education Russia
2014 Ibrahim Ag Idbaltanat Countries in Mali, West Africa
2014 Francisco Javier Estevez Valencia Chile, country in South America
2011 Anarkali Kaur Honorary Anarkali Kaur Honiyar is a Punjabi Sikh Afghan politician. She is a women's rights activist and dentist as well as a medical doctor
2011 Khalid Abu Awwad Khalid Abu Awwad through his work as a pacifist and leader in the reconciliation process between efforts to promote tolerance, peace and non-violence UNESCO-Madanjit Singh Prize for Efforts to Promote Tolerance, Peace and Nonviolence was awarded
2009 François Hautart François Hauter was a Belgian Marxist sociologist and Catholic priest
2009 Abdul Sattar Edhi Abdul Sattar Edhi was a Pakistani man who founded the Edhi Foundation, which runs homeless shelters, animal shelters, rehab centers and orphanages in Pakistan as well as the world's largest volunteer ambulance network
2006 Veersingham Anandsangri Veerasingham Anandasangri is a prominent Sri Lankan Tamil politician, former Member of Parliament and leader of the Tamil United Liberation Front
2004 Taslima Nasreen Taslima Nasreen is a Bangladeshi-Swedish writer, physician, feminist, secular humanist and human rights activist
2002 Aung San Suu Kyi Aung San Suu Kyi is a Burmese politician, diplomat, author and Nobel Peace Prize laureate (1991). She is the leader of the National League for Democracy and the first and incumbent State Counselor
2000 Pope Shenouda III Pope Shenouda III official title was Pope of Alexandria and Patriarch of All Africa on The Evangelist of Saint Mark Holy Apostolic View of the Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria. He was also the head of the Holy Synod of the Coptic Orthodox Patriarchate of Alexandria
1998 Narayan Desai Narayan Desai was an Indian Gandhian and writer
1998 Joint Action Committee for Public Rights Pakistan
1996 Pro-Famous Twice Hamwey Pro-Famous Tweis Hamwe is a national women's organization in Rwanda founded in 1992, which is internationally recognized for its efforts to rebuild society after the 1994 Rwandan genocide
  Last update :  2022-12-05 11:21:32
  Download :  PDF
  Post Views :  1550
  Post Category :  Awards and Honors