The Abel Prize is a prestigious international mathematics award named after the Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel. It was established by the Norwegian government in 2001 and is often referred to as the "Nobel Prize of Mathematics" because of its significance and prestige in the field of mathematics.

Quick Info about The Abel Prize

Category of award Mathematician
Establishment year 23 August 2001
Prize money 7.5 million Norwegian kroner (Around 6.9 million US dollars)
Country Norway
First winner Jean Pierre Serre
last winner Luis Caffarelli (2023)

Important Information related to Abel Prize

History of Abel Prize

The Abel Prize was instituted in honor of Norway's most famous mathematician "Niels Heinrich Abel" on 23 August 2001. Since then, it has been awarded annually by the Norwegian government to one or more mathematicians. The first to be awarded the prize. The person was "Jean Pierre Serre", who was awarded this prize in the year 2003 for modernizing several parts of mathematics such as topology, algebraic geometry and number theory.

Purpose of Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is awarded annually to one or more outstanding mathematicians who have made significant contributions to the field of mathematics. It recognizes exceptional work in pure and applied mathematics.

Prize Amount of Abel Prize

The prize consists of a cash prize, the amount of which has varied over the years but is generally substantial. The exact amount is determined by the Norwegian government. Currently the winner is awarded a prize of 7.5 million Norwegian kroner.

Recognition of Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is considered one of the highest honors a mathematician can receive. It is awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters and has gained international recognition and respect.

Selection Process of Abel Prize

A committee of renowned mathematicians, appointed by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, is responsible for selecting the Abel Prize laureates. The selection process is highly competitive and rigorous.

Award Ceremony of Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is typically awarded in a formal ceremony in Oslo, Norway, on May 19th, which is Niels Henrik Abel's birthday. The ceremony is attended by mathematicians, dignitaries, and members of the mathematical community from around the world.

List of Abel Prize winners from 2003 to 2023

Year Winner's name Achievement
2023 Luis Caffarelli "For his seminal contributions to regularity theory for nonlinear partial differential equations including free-boundary problems and the Monge–Ampère equation."
2022 Dennis Parnell Sullivan "For his groundbreaking contributions to topology in its broadest sense, and in particular its algebraic, geometric and dynamical aspects."
2021 Laszlo Lovasz and Avi Wijdersen "To strengthen the link between mathematics and computer science."
2020 Hillel Furstenberg and Gregory Margulis "Applications of Methods from Probability and Dynamics in Group Theory, Number Theory, and Combinatorics."
2019 Karen Uhlenbeck "For his pioneering achievements in geometric partial differential equations, gauge theory and integer systems, and for the fundamental impact of his work on analysis, geometry, and mathematical physics."
2018 Robert P. Longlands "For a Project Connecting Number Theory to Representation Theory."
2017 Yves Meyer "For his important role in the development of the mathematical theory of wavelets (small waves)."
2016 Andrew Wills "To usher in a new era in number theory by the spectacular proof of Fermat's Last Theorem by means of modularity conjecture for semi-stable ellipsoidal curves."
2015 John F Nash, Jr. Louis Nirenberg "For making unprecedented and fundamental contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and their applications to geometric analysis."
2014 Ya'akov Sinai "For making fundamental contributions to the fields of dynamical systems, ergodic theory and mathematical physics."
2013 Pierre Deligne "For significant contributions to algebraic geometry and its transformative impact on number theory, representation theory and related fields."
2012 Andrey Zemeredi "For contributions to discrete mathematics and theoretical computer science, and for identifying the profound and lasting impact of these contributions on additive number theory and ergodic theory."
2011 John Milnor "For remarkable discoveries in topology, geometry, and algebra."
2010 John Tate "For his wide and lasting influence on the theory of numbers."
2009 Mikhail Gromov "For making revolutionary contributions to geometry."
2008 John G. Thompson, Jacques Tits "For profound achievements in algebra, and in particular for shaping modern group theory."
2007 S. R. Srinivas Vardhan "For making contributions to probability theory, and in particular to creating a unified theory of large divergence."
2006 Lanert Carlsen "For his profound and important contributions to harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systems."
2005 Peter Lack "For his important contribution to the theory and implementation of partial differential equations and to the computation of these equations."
2004 Michael Atiyah and Isador Singer "For his outstanding role in the discovery and proof of the index theorem, for bringing together topology, geometry and its analysis, and in synergizing mathematics and theoretical physics."
2003 Jean Pierre Serre "For playing a significant role in shaping the modern form of many parts of mathematics such as topology, algebraic geometry and number theory."

Read also:

  Last update :  Thu 7 Sep 2023
  Post Views :  16829
  Post Category :  International Awards