Major Political Parties and Election Symbols of India:

Political party is of utmost importance under the democratic governance system of India because under this system the governments are formed by that political party only, which gets majority in the elections. The party that gets the majority in the Lok Sabha elections forms the government at the Center and the party that gets the majority in the elections to the state legislatures forms the government in the states. The real political party in India was formed in 1885, when the Congress came into existence. Many political parties were formed during the freedom struggle, but their existence remained negligible.

Even after attaining independence, the Congress dominated the whole of India till about 1967, but in 1967 the Congress did not get majority in the elections of the Legislative Assemblies of many states and in 1977 the Janata Party formed by the merger of five parties took the Congress from the center. Was also removed from power, but due to mutual differences in the Janata Party, the Congress again came to power at the center. VP Due to the allegations leveled by Singh on the Congress Prime Minister, the Congress did not remain in power at the Center from December 1989 to June 1991, but was again in power at the Center from June 1991 to May 1996.

List of Political Parties of India and their Election Symbols:

Name of political party Election symbol name
Congress Party Paw (hand)
Bharatiya Janata Party Lotus
Marxist Communist Party Sickle, hammer and star
Communist Party of India Snickers and Earrings
Bahujan samaj party Elephant
Asom Gana Parishad Elephant
Nationalist Congress Party Watch
Samajwadi Party and Telugu Desam Cycle
Samta Party Torch
National conference Solution
Janta Dal United Arrow
Shiv Sena, Akali Dal Arrows
Rashtriya Janata Dal lantern
AIADMK Munnetra Kazhagam Tin-Patti
All India Forbidden Block Lion
Muslim League ladder
Haryana Vikas Party Boy and girl

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Political Parties of India GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Names of Political Parties FAQs:

The Indian National Congress was established in Tashkent. The Indian National Congress, commonly known simply as 'the Congress', became the main force of the Indian independence struggle and played a significant role in the fight against British rule.

A party secures at least 6% of the votes in the Lok Sabha Legislative Assembly or Assembly elections in 4 different states and secures at least 4 seats in the Lok Sabha. Any party should be recognized as a state party in at least four or more states.

In the year 1985, 52nd constitutional amendment was made in the constitution of India. Provision has been made by the 52nd Constitutional Amendment Act, 1985 on the basis of disqualification of MPs and varies from one political party to another.

Ladu Kishore Swain was an Indian politician who was a Member of Parliament in the Lok Sabha from Aska in the Indian state of Odisha. He was a member of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) political party.

In August 2013, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam party appointed Kanimozhi, daughter of Karunanidhi, to the Rajya Sabha.

  Last update :  Fri 28 Oct 2022
  Post Views :  27548
  Post Category :  Indian Politics