Korea's An Seung won the women's singles final on 22 January in the India Open Badminton Championship held at the D. Jadhav Indoor Stadium in New Delhi. Ann Seong defeated World No. 1 Japanese Akane Yamaguchi 15-21, 21-16, 21-12 in the India Open Badminton Championships.

  • It was a two-time world championship and world number one Yamaguchi's third consecutive finals appearance on the BWF World Tour.
  • Akane Yamaguchi lost the first game 15-21 and then won the match with solid defense and lots of strokes. They won the second game 21–16.
  • The match lasted one hour and two minutes, it was also An Seung's sixth win against Yamaguchi, having previously won ten times.

About Ann Se-young

Ann Se-young was born on 5 February 2002. He is a South Korean badminton player from Gwangju who was awarded as the Most Promising Player of the Year 2019 by BWF.
Ann Se-young was selected to join the national team in 2018, becoming the first junior high school student in the Korean national team. In 2019, Ann Se-young won the BWF World Tour title at the Super 300 New Zealand Open. Se-young defeated Olympic gold medalist Li Xuerui of China in the 2012 final.

  Last update :  22 January 2023
  News Category :  Sports
  Post Category :  January 2023