Schedules of the Indian Constitution and important facts related to them:

After the end of the Second World War, in July 1945, Britain announced its new policy regarding India and sent a cabinet mission to India for the formation of the Constituent Assembly of India, in which there were 3 ministers. After India became independent on 15 August 1947, the Constituent Assembly was announced and it started its work from 9 December 1947. The members of the Constituent Assembly were elected by the elected members of the State Assemblies of India.

Jawaharlal Nehru, Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar, Dr. Rajendra Prasad, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad etc. were the prominent members of this assembly. This Constituent Assembly met for a total of 114 days in 2 years, 11 months, 18 days. The press and the public had the freedom to participate in its meetings. Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar played an important role in the making of the Constitution of India, hence he is called 'the architect of the Constitution'.

What is Schedule?

The Indian Constitution is the largest constitution in the world as well as one of the largest judicial constitutions in the world. This is a read of the federal structure of India. In every federal country, there is a possibility of disputes arising between the state government and the union government regarding the power and area of ​​​​the union and to avoid the possibilities of these disputes, the framers of the Indian constitution have defined the functions of the state government and the union government and their rights. list of which is called Schedule.

Initially the number of these schedules was 8, but with the passage of time, due to the increase in the scope of work of the State Government and the Central Government, their number has increased to 12.

Let us know the list of Schedules of the Indian Constitution:-

Schedule Subject matter Related Article
First schedule These include the salary and allowances of various officials of the Indian polity. 1 to 4
Second schedule In these, the mention of salary, allowances and pension etc. of various office bearers of the Indian polity- 1. President of India 2. Governor of states 3. Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha 4. Chairman and Deputy Speaker of Rajya Sabha 5. Speaker and Deputy Speaker of State Legislative Assemblies 6. Chairman and Deputy Chairman of State Legislative Councils 7. Judges of Supreme Court 8. Judges of High Courts 9. Comptroller and Auditor General of India 59, 65, 75, 97, 125, 148, 158, 164, 186, and 221
Third schedule In this, the formats of oath or affirmation to be taken by various candidates are given - 1. Union Ministers 2. Candidates for election to Parliament 3. Members of Parliament 4. Judges of Supreme Court 5. Comptroller and Auditor General of India 6. Minister of State 7. Candidates for Election to the State Legislature 8. Members of the State Legislature 9. Judges of High Courts 75, 84, 99,124, 146, 173, 188, and 219
Fourth schedule Mention of the allocation of seats in the Rajya Sabha to the States and Union Territories. 4 and 80
Fifth schedule Mention about the administration of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes. 244
Sixth Schedule Mention of administration of tribal areas of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram. 244 and 275
Seventh schedule The division of powers between the State and the Center in terms of the Union List (originally 97 at present 100), the State List (originally 66 at present) and the Concurrent List (originally 47 at present 52) 246
Eighth Schedule Languages ​​recognized by the constitution (originally 22 at present) Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi Mention of Tamil, Telugu and Urdu. 344 and 351
Ninth schedule Acts and Regulations of Parliament from State Legislatures and other matters relating to land reforms and the abolition of the zamindari system, the Supreme Court's decision in the year 2007, that the laws included in this Schedule after April 24, 1975, may be subject to judicial review. 31 B
Tenth schedule The provisions related to defection have been mentioned in this constitution by the 52nd amendment, 1985. 102 and 191
Eleventh schedule Powers, Authority and Responsibilities of Panchayat There are 29 subjects in this which have been added in the 73rd Constitutional Amendment. 243 G
XII Schedule Powers, Authority and Responsibilities of Municipalities It was added by the 74th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1992. 243 B

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Articles of Indian Constitution GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Schedules of Indian Constitution FAQs:

There are altogether 12 Schedules in the Constitution of India. These schedules present amendments or proportionate details of the constitution on various subjects, such as list of states and union territories, list of languages, list of tribes, list of scheduled castes, etc.

Under Article 243(D) of the Constitution, seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes in Panchayats. According to this article, under the Panchayati Raj system, there are reserved seats for the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes in the Gram Panchayat, Taluka Panchayat and Zilla Parishad.

The Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution deals with the languages of India. 22 Indian languages are included in this schedule. Subsequently, Konkani language, Manipuri language, and Nepali language were added in 1992 AD. Recently in 2003 Bodo language, Dogri language, Maithili language, and Santhali language were added.

The Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution deals with the languages of India. Initially 14 languages were given constitutional recognition, later Sindhi language in 21st Constitutional Amendment Act 1967, Konkani language, Manipuri language and Nepali language were added in 71st Constitutional Amendment Act 1992 AD.

The Constitution of India has given this responsibility to the President. The President has the power to identify, register and prepare a list of Scheduled Castes. For this, the assistance of the National Scheduled Castes Commission and the State Scheduled Castes Commission located at the President is taken.

  Last update :  Tue 21 Mar 2023
  Post Views :  14406
  Post Category :  Indian Politics