History of International One Day Cricket and List of World Cup Winners:

International One Day Cricket: Also called ODI (ODI) cricket or limited overs cricket. In this, each team bowls 50 overs and bats 50 overs. Earlier it used to be of 60 overs. It ends in a day. World Cup competitions are held in this format. In which all ICC member countries participate.

History of International One Day Cricket: The development of the International One Day game occurred in the late twentieth century. The first one-day match was played between Australia and England on 5 January 1971 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. When the first three days of the third Test match were washed out due to rain, the officials decided to call off the match and instead play a one-day match of 40 overs per team with six balls per over. Australia won this match by 5 wickets.

Rules of International One Day Cricket: The rules of cricket are applicable in the main format. But, in One Day International matches each team bats only for a limited number of overs. In the early days of ODI cricket, the number of overs per team was generally 60, but now it has been uniformly reduced to 50 overs.

The rules of ODI cricket are as follows:

  • One day match is played between 2 teams with 11 players per team.
  • The captain winning the toss chooses to bat or bowl (field).
  • The team batting first determines the target run count in the first innings. The innings continues until the batting side's "all players are out" (that is, 10 out of 11 batsmen are out) or the first team has completed all fifty overs allotted.
  • Each bowler may bowl up to a maximum of 10 overs (less than in rain-affected matches and usually one-fifth or 20% of the total overs per innings in any case).
  • The team batting in the second innings tries to score more runs than the prescribed run count to win the match. Similarly, the team bowling in the second innings tries to get the opposition team out for less than the prescribed run count to win the match.
  • If in the second innings all the wickets of the batting team are lost or all of its overs are exhausted and the number of runs scored by both teams is equal, the game is tied (regardless of the number of wickets lost by either team). ) is declared.
  • In case of shortfall in the number of overs, for example due to bad weather, the number of overs may be reduced. If for any reason the number of overs played by the team batting in the second innings differs from the team batting in the first innings, the result can be determined by the Duckworth-Lewis method.
  • Flood lights are set in such a way that it does not obstruct the fielding team and captains are allowed to keep cloth on the field in case the ball gets wet.

Brief description about International One Day Men's Cricket World Cup:

Organization Year WINNER Runner-up Venue Total Team Margin of victory
1975 West Indies Australia England 8 17 runs
1979 West Indies England England 8 92 runs
1983 India West Indies England 12 43 runs
1987 Australia England India/Pakistan 8 7 runs
1992 Pakistan England Australia/New Zealand 9 22 runs
1996 Sri Lanka Australia India/Pakistan/Sri Lanka 12 7 wickets
1999 Australia Pakistan England 12 8 wickets
2003 Australia India South Africa 14 125 runs
2007 Australia Sri Lanka West Indies 16 53 runs
2011 India Sri Lanka India/Sri Lanka/Bangladesh 14 6 wickets
2015 Australia New Zealand Australia/New Zealand 14 7 wickets
2019 England New Zealand England / Wales 10 17 wickets
2023 India Sri Lanka India/Sri Lanka 10 317 runs

Brief description about International One Day Women's Cricket World Cup:

Organization Year WINNER Runner-up Venue Margin of victory
1973 England England Australia 92 runs
1978 Pakistan Australia England 8 wickets
1982 New Zealand Australia England 3 wickets
1988 Australia Australia England 8 wickets
1993 England England New Zealand 67 runs
1997 India Australia New Zealand 5 wickets
2000 New Zealand New Zealand Australia 4 runs
2005 South Africa Australia India 98 runs
2009 Australia England New Zealand 4 wickets
2013 India Australia West Indies 114 runs
2017 England India London 9 run
2022 Australia England Hagley Oval 71 runs

Some important records set in International One Day Cricket:

  • India's Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for scoring most centuries and half-centuries in ODIs. He has also scored the most runs in ODIs and is the first male player to score a double century in ODIs, a feat he achieved on 24 February 2010.
  • The record for the highest number of runs in an innings in a limited overs match is 443 for nine, set by Sri Lanka against the Netherlands in a 50-over International One Day match at Amstelveen on 4 July 2006. The record for the lowest run count with 35 runs is held by Zimbabwe against Sri Lanka in Harare in 2004.
  • The highest number of runs scored by both teams in a limited overs match is 872: batting first during their One Day International in Johannesburg in 2006, Australia scored 434 for four in 50 overs, but were still away from South Africa. were defeated, who made 438 runs for the loss of nine wickets with one ball remaining.
  • The best bowling record with 8 wickets for 19 runs is held by Sri Lanka's Chaminda Vaas in 2001–02 against Zimbabwe in Colombo – the only player to take eight wickets in One Day Internationals.
  • AB de Villiers hit the fastest century in One Day International cricket on 18 January 2015. De Villiers broke New Zealand's Corey Anderson's record. AB de Villiers completed his century in 31 balls against the West Indies and made a world record of 149 runs in 44 balls before being dismissed.

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

One Day International Cricket GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

International One Day Cricket FAQs:

In June 2018, Mithali Raj became the first Indian batsman to score 2000 runs in Twenty20 Internationals. Mithali Raj is the only female cricketer to cross 6,000 runs in Women's One Day International cricket.

Virat Kohli holds the record for scoring the fastest century in ODI cricket while batting for the Indian cricket team. Virat Kohli played a century in just 52 balls during this match against the Australian team at the Jaipur Cricket Ground in the year 2013.

The name of the first cricketer to score the fastest 17 centuries in One Day Internationals is Rohit Sharma. He achieved this feat in 2019 in an ODI match played between India and Afghanistan. Rohit Sharma scored 17 centuries in 115 balls in this match.

Virat Kohli has equaled Vivian Richards' record of becoming the fastest to score 5,000 runs in One Day Internationals. He required 114 matches to achieve this feat. Virat Kohli set this record during the 2020 Easter Islands Tour.

Michael Clarke was not crowned the best cricketer in the world in 2013 by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

  Last update :  Mon 16 Jan 2023
  Post Views :  11487
  Post Category :  Cricket