List of Ranji Trophy winners

Current winners of Ranji Trophy:

Ranji Trophy is a domestic cricket competition of India. The Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between teams representing regional cricket associations. The competition is currently played between 28 teams. The Ranji Trophy competition is named after former Indian cricketer Ranjit Singh Ji or 'Ranji'. Vidarbha's team is the defending champion of Ranji Trophy, Vidarbha won the title by defeating Delhi by 9 wickets in the final match of 2017-18 season.

Vidarbha won the Ranji Trophy title for the first time. But it happened between Vidarbha and Saurashtra that started on 3 February 2019, in which Vidarbha defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs in the final to retain their title to become the sixth team in the history of the tournament. Mumbai has won this competition the most 41 times.

History of Ranji Trophy:

The Ranji Trophy was first organized in July 1934. The first match of the competition was held on 04 November 1934 at Chepauk Stadium between Madras and Mysore.

Format of Ranji Trophy:

The format of Ranji Trophy is in two phases. Round-robin league matches are played in the first phase, in the second phase it is knock-out. The limit is four days for round robin matches and five days for knockout matches. In this each team has to bat twice and bowl twice. In the knockout stage, if the match ends in a draw, the team wins on the basis of first innings.

List of Ranji Trophy winners from the year 1934 till date:

Session Ranji Trophy Winner Name Runner-up
2021-2022 Madhya Pradesh Mumbai
2020-2021 Cancelled Due To Covid-19
2019-2020 Saurashtra Bengal
2018–19 Vidarbha (2 titles) Saurashtra
2017–18 Vidarbha Delhi
2016–17 Gujarat Mumbai
2015–16 Mumbai Saurashtra
2014–15 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
2013–14 Karnataka Maharashtra
2012–13 Mumbai Saurashtra
2011–12 Rajasthan Tamil Nadu
2010–11 Rajasthan Baroda
2009–10 Mumbai Karnataka
2008–09 Mumbai Uttar Pradesh
2007–08 Delhi Uttar Pradesh
2006–07 Mumbai Bengal
2005–06 Uttar Pradesh Bengal
2004–05 Rail Punjab
2003–04 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2002–03 Mumbai Tamil Nadu
2001–02 Rail Baroda
2000–01 Baroda Rail
1999–00 Mumbai Hyderabad
1998–99 Karnataka Madhya Pradesh
1997–98 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1996–97 Mumbai Delhi
1995–96 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
1994–95 Bombay Punjab
1993–94 Bombay Bengal
1992–93 Punjab Maharashtra
1991–92 Delhi Tamil Nadu
1990–91 Haryana Bombay
1989–90 Bengal Delhi
1988–89 Delhi Bengal
1987–88 Tamil Nadu Railways
1986–87 Hyderabad Delhi
1985–86 Delhi Haryana
1984–85 Bombay Delhi
1983–84 Bombay Delhi
1982–83 Karnataka Bombay
1981–82 Delhi Karnataka
1980–81 Bombay Delhi
1979–80 Delhi Bombay
1978–79 Delhi Karnataka
1977–78 Karnataka Uttar Pradesh
1976–77 Bombay Delhi
1975–76 Bombay Bihar
1974–75 Bombay Karnataka
1973–74 Karnataka Rajasthan
1972–73 Bombay Tamil Nadu
1971–72 Bombay Bengal
1970–71 Bombay Maharashtra
1969–70 Bombay Rajasthan
1968–69 Bombay Bengal
1967–68 Bombay Madras
1966–67 Bombay Rajasthan
1965–66 Bombay Rajasthan
1964–65 Bombay Hyderabad
1963–64 Bombay Rajasthan
1962–63 Bombay Rajasthan
1961–62 Bombay Rajasthan
1960–61 Bombay Rajasthan
1959–60 Bombay Mysore
1958–59 Bombay Bengal
1957–58 Bombay Services
1956–57 Bombay Services
1955–56 Bombay Bengal
1954–55 Madras Holkar
1953–54 Bombay Holkar
1952–53 Holkar Bengal
1951–52 Bombay Holkar
1950–51 Holkar Gujarat
1949–50 Baroda Holkar
1948–49 Bombay Baroda
1947–48 Holkar Bombay
1946–47 Baroda Holkar
1945–46 Holkar Baroda
1944–45 Bombay Holkar
1943–44 West India Bengal
1942–43 Baroda Hyderabad
1941–42 Bombay Mysore
1940–41 Maharashtra Madras
1939–40 Maharashtra United Provinces
1938–39 Bengal Southern Punjab
1937–38 Hyderabad Nawanagar
1936–37 Nawanagar Bengal
1935–36 Bombay Madras
1934–35 Bombay North India

Read also:

  Last update :  Mon 5 Dec 2022
  Post Views :  19440
  Post Category :  Cricket