Names and tenure of Chiefs of Indian Navy:

The Indian Navy is the maritime arm of the Indian Army, which is the protector of Indian civilization and culture with its glorious history. Equipped with 55,000 sailors, this world's fifth largest navy, playing the security of the Indian border prominently, also participates in military exercises with other major allies of the world. The foundation of the modern Indian Navy was laid in the 17th century, when the East India Company established the East India Company as a maritime force and thus the Royal Indian Navy was established in 1934.

The Headquarters of the Indian Navy is located in New Delhi and is under the control of a Chief Naval Officer – Admiral. The Indian Navy is deployed under 3 field commands, each controlled by a flag officer.

History of Indian Navy: The official launch of the Indian Navy was on 5 September 1612. On this day the first fleet of fighter ships (warships) of the East India Company reached the port of Surat. This fleet was called 'The Honorable East India Companies Marine'. Later it was called 'The Bombay Marine'. During the First World War, this navy was renamed 'Royal Indian Marine'. By the time of World War II, the Royal Indian Navy had about eight warships.

By the end of the war the number of ships had increased to 100. India became a republic on 26 January 1950 and on this day the Indian Navy dropped the Royal name in front of its name. The Indian Navy at that time had 32 shipping-ships and about 11,000 officers and sailors. The first Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Navy, Real Admiral I.T.S. Hall was. The first Indian Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS) was Vice Admiral R.D. Katari, who took office on 22 April 1958.

Organization of the Indian Navy: The Chief of the Navy is assisted by five Chief Staff Officers of the rank of Vice Admiral. There are three naval commands in total.

  • The headquarters of the Western Naval Command is located in Mumbai in the Arabian Sea.
  • The Southern Naval Command is located at Kochi (Cochin) in Kerala and is also located in the Arabian Sea.
  • The Eastern Naval Command is based in Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, in the Bay of Bengal.

Each command is headed by a Flag Officer Chief Officer with the rank of Vice Admiral. The Indian Navy is responsible for the security of the 6,400 km long coastline of peninsular India. An independent paramilitary service, the Indian Coast Guard, the Indian Navy makes a significant contribution to the defense of India's maritime and other national interests.

List of Indian Navy Chiefs and their tenure from 1947 till now:

Names of the Chiefs/Chiefs of the Indian Navy Term
Rear Admiral J.T.S. Recent 15 August 1947 to 14 August 1948
Admiral Sir Edward Parry 15 August 1948 to 13 October 1951
Admiral Sir Mark Pidge 14 October 1951 to 21 July 1955
Vice Admiral Sir Stephen Carlile 22 July 1955 to 21 April 1958
Vice Admiral R.D. Katari 22 April 1958 to 4 June 1962
Vice Admiral B.S. Soman 05 June 1962 to 3 March 1966
Admiral A.K. Chatterjee 04 March 1966 to 27 February 1970
Admiral S.M. Nanda 28 February 1970 to 28 February 1973
Admiral S.N. Kohli 1 March 1973 to 28 February 1976
Admiral J.L. Karsetji 01 March 1976 to 28 February 1979
Admiral R.L. Pereira 1 March 1979 to 28 February 1982
Admiral O.S. Dawson 01 March 1982 to 30 November 1984
Admiral R.H. Tahiliani From 01 December 1984 to 30 November 1987
Admiral J.G. Nadkarni From 01 December 1987 to 30 November 1990
Admiral L. Ramdas From 01 December 1990 to 30 September 1993
Admiral V.S. Shekhawat 1 October 1993 to 30 September 1996
Admiral Vishnu Bhagwat 1 October 1996 to 30 December 1998
Admiral Sushil Kumar 31 December 1998 to 29 December 2001
Admiral Madhvendra Singh 29 December 2001 to 31 July 2004
Admiral Arun Prakash From 01 August 2004 to 30 October 2006
Admiral Suresh Mehta 30 October 2006 to 31 August 2009
Admiral Nirmal Verma From 31 August 2009 to 31 August 2012
Admiral Devendra Kumar Joshi 31 August 2012 to 26 February 2014
Vice Admiral RK Dhowan 26 February 2014 to 31 May 2016
Admiral Sunil Lanba May 31, 2016 to May 31, 2019
Admiral Karambir Singh May 31, 2019 till date

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Indian Navy GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Indian Navy Chief FAQs:

Admiral Karambir Singh is the 24th and current Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS) of the Indian Navy. Singh's appointment to the admiralship comes after the superannuation of Admiral Sunil Lanba as CNS on May 31, 2019.

Admiral Karambir Singh, the 24th Chief of the Naval Staff of the Indian Navy, died in New Delhi in October at the age of 85. Singh's appointment to the admiralship comes after the superannuation of Admiral Sunil Lanba as CNS on May 31, 2019.

Admiral Rabinder "Robin" Kumar Dhawan PVSM, AVSM, YSM, ADC was the 22nd Chief of the Naval Staff of the Indian Navy. He assumed office on 17 April 2014, succeeding Admiral DK Joshi.

The post of Chief of the Indian Navy is called Admiral. Admiral or Chief of the Naval Staff is called the highest officer or officers of the Navy of a country or state. For comparison, this post is considered equivalent to 'general' or 'commander' of the army.

In the year 1946, just before India's independence, there was first a complete strike by the soldiers of the Royal Indian Navy in Mumbai and then there was also an open rebellion by the Navy against the British rule. This is known as Jalsena Rebellion or Bombay Rebellion (Bombay Mutiny).

  Last update :  Fri 27 Jan 2023
  Post Views :  13660
  Post Category :  Indian Army Organizations