What is UPSC?

The Union Public Service Commission ('Union Public Service Commission' aka 'UPSC') is an institution established by the Constitution of India, which conducts examinations for the appointment of civil service officers of the Government of India. Articles 315-323 of the Indian Constitution provide for the formation of a 'Federal Public Service Commission' and 'State Public Service Commission' for the states.

The first Public Service Commission was established on October 1, 1926 AD. The main role of the Union Public Service Commission is to select persons for appointment to various central civil services and posts and services common to the Center and the States.

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) Chairman 2023:

At present, Dr. Manoj Soni has been appointed as the Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) on April 5, 2022. His tenure will be till June 27, 2023. He has been associated with the Anupam Mission of the Swaminarayan sect located in Mogri. from an early age in Anand district and received initiation as a Nishkarma Karmayogi (selfless worker) on January 10, 2020.

Dr. Soni has been appointed in place of former UPSC chairman Pradeep Kumar Joshi. Prior to this assignment, Soni has also served as Vice-Chancellor of two universities and has earned several national and international awards and recognitions.

List of all Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) chairmen since 1926:

Name Term
Sir Ross Barker 1926 to 1932 
Sir David Petrie August 1932 to 
Sir Eyre Gordon 1937 to 1942 
Sir F. W. Robertson 1942 to 1947 
Shri H.K. Kriplani 1 April 1947 to 13 January 1949 
Shri R. N. Banerjee 14 January 1949 to 09 May 1955 
Shri N. Govindarajan 10 May 1955 to 09 December 1955 
Shri V.S. hedge 10 December 1955 to 09 December 1961 
Shri B. N. Jha 11 December 1961 to 22 February 1967 
Mr. R. Damle 18 April 1967 to 02 March 1971 
Shri R. C.S. government 11 May 1971 to 01 February 1973 
Dr. a. R. Kidwai 05 February 1973 to 04 February 1979 
Dr. ml. Shaare 16 February 1979 to 16 February 1985 
Shri H.K. Ale. Camphor 18 February 1985 to 05 March 1990 
Shri J.P. Gupta 05 March 1990 to 02 June 1992 
Smt. R.M. Bathue (Kharbuli) 23 September 1992 to 23 August 1996 
Shri S.J.S. roofing 23 August 1996 to 30 September 1996 
Shri J.M. Qureshi 30 September 1996 to 11 December 1998 
Lay. General (Retd) Surinder Nath 11 December 1998 to 25 June 2002 
Shri P.C. would have 25 June 2002 to 08 September 2003 
Shri Mata Prasad 08 September 2003 to 04 January 2005 
Dr. S.R. Hashim 04 January 2005 to 01 April 2006 
Shri Gurbachan Jagat From 01 April 2006 to 30 June 2007 
Shri Subir Dutta 30 June 2007 to 16 August 2008 
Professor DP Aggarwal 16 August 2008 to 16 August 2014 
Rajni Razdan 16 August 2014 to 22 November 2014 
Deepak Gupta 22 November 2014 to 20 September 2016 
Mrs. Alka Sirohi 21 September 2016 to 03 January 2017
Prof. David R. Simlih From 04 January 2017 to 21 January 2018
Vinay Mittal 22 January 2018 to 19 June 2018
Arvind Saxena 20 June 2018-06 August 2020 
Prof. (Dr.) Pradeep Kumar Joshi August 07, 2020- April 4, 2022 
Dr. Manoj Soni 5 April 2022- Present

Union Public Service Commission Office Location:

Office Location The Headquarters of the Union Public Service Commission of India is located at Dholpur House, New Delhi. This beautiful circular building is situated on Shahjahan Road, next to India Gate. It was earlier the residence of the Dholpur royal family and was also constructed during the construction of New Delhi in the 1920s.

What are the functions and roles of Union Public Service Commission?

The Union Public Service Commission has been entrusted with the following functions and roles under the Constitution:-

  • Recruitment to services and posts under the Union through the conduct of competitive examinations.
  • Recruitment by selection through interview to services and posts under the Central Government.
  • To render advice on the suitability of officers for appointment on promotion as well as for transfer on deputation.
  • To advise the Government on all matters relating to the method of recruitment to various services and posts.
  • Disciplinary matters relating to various civil services.
  • Miscellaneous matters related to grant of extraordinary pension, reimbursement of legal expenses etc.
How are the members of the Union Public Service Commission elected?

Members The members of the Commission are appointed by the President of India. At least half of the members are members of a civil service with at least 10 years of experience. Their tenure is for 6 years or till the age of 65 years. They can submit their resignation to the President anytime. Before this, the President can dismiss them for contempt of office or for indulging in illegal activities.

What are the major examinations conducted by the Union Public Service Commission?

The main function of the Union Public Service Commission is to elect members for the public service of the Center and the States. For this it conducts various examinations. Some of these main exams are as follows:-

  • Combined Medical Services Examination (in February)
  • National Defense Academy and Naval Academy Examination (in April and September)
  • Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination (in May)
  • Indian Forest Service Examination (in July)
  • Engineering Services Examination (in July)
  • Special Class Railway Apprentices Examination (in August)
  • Indian Economic Service/Indian Statistical Service Examination (in September)
  • Civil Services (Main) Examination (in October/November)
  • Combined Defense Services Examination (in May and October)
    Geologist Exam (in December)
  • Section Officer/Stenographer (Grade B/Grade 1) Limited Departmental Competitive Examination (in December)

Apart from this, recruiting State Public Service officers as officers from the Union Public Service, making recruitment rules, organizing departmental promotion committees, solving any other matter specified by the President of India, etc.

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Union Public Service Commission GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Union Public Service Commission FAQs:

On 22 November 2014, Davitra Chatterjee was appointed as the new chairman of the Union Public Service Commission, with a tenure till 2017. During the tenure of Davitra Chatterjee, he took many important major decisions during the tenure of UPSC and continuously worked from scratch.

The members of the Union Public Service Commission (U.P.S.C. - Union Public Service Commission) hold office for six years or till they attain the age of 65 years (whichever is earlier).

Under Article 320 of the Constitution, it is, inter alia, mandatory to consult the Commission in all matters relating to recruitment to civil services and posts. The functions of the Commission under Article 320 of the Constitution are as follows:- To conduct examinations for appointment to the services for the Union, to frame recruitment rules for various services and posts under the Government and to amend them; To advise the Government in any matter, etc.

The members and chairman of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) are appointed by the President of India. Apart from this, the 72nd article of the constitution gives judicial powers to the President that he can abolish, forgive, withdraw, remit, change the punishment.

The members of the Union Public Service Commission can be removed from office only by the President on the basis of the inquiry and report by the Supreme Court. Their tenure is for 6 years or till the age of 65 years (whichever comes first).

  Last update :  Tue 4 Apr 2023
  Post Views :  21092
  Post Category :  Indian Army Organizations