Names of the Chiefs of the Indian Air Force and their tenure:

Indian Air Force:

The Indian Air Force was established on 8 October 1932 and on 1 April 1954, Air Marshal Subroto Mukherjee, a founding member of the Indian Navy, took over as the first Indian Chief of the Air Staff. With the passage of time, the Indian Air Force has made extensive upgrades to its aircraft and equipment and has inducted 20 new aircraft types as part of the process.

The last decade of the 20th century saw extraordinary changes in the structure of the Indian Air Force in an initiative to induct women, who were taken for short service commissions. It was during this time that the Air Force undertook some of the riskier tasks ever were taken in The first helicopter to be flown by the 'Indian Air Force' was the 'Sikorsky', which was used between 1954 and 1966.

History of Indian Air Force:

The Indian Air Force is the newest branch of the Indian Armed Forces. The Air Force came into existence on 8 October 1932 with the passing of the Indian Air Force Bill by the Indian legislature. However, on 1 April 1933, the 1st Air Squadron was formed, which became part of No. This included six Royal Air Force trained officers, 19 airmen and four I.I.A.s who had returned from Westland. There were military cooperation aircraft. No. 1 Squadron was the only organization in the Indian Air Force at the start of World War II. At that time there were 16 officers and 662 soldiers in the Air Force.

In 1939, it was proposed that five air squadrons be raised on a voluntary basis to guard the main ports. The first air squadron at Madras (present-day Chennai), the second at Bombay (present-day Mumbai), the third at Calcutta (present-day Kolkata), the fourth at Karachi, the fifth at Cochin (present-day Kochi) and later the sixth at Visakhapatnam. By the end of 1944, the Indian Air Force had nine squadrons.

The first air force stations established are at Agra, Pune, Ambala Chandigarh and Bangalore. In March 1945, the Indian Air Force was given the prefix Royal. This honor was given to him for his commendable contribution in the Second World War. At the end of the state of war in August 1945, the Royal Indian Air Force had 28,500 personnel, of whom 1,600 were officers.

Indian Air Force Motto:

The motto of the Indian Air Force is 'Nabh: Sprisham Deeptam' in Sanskrit. In Hindi it means 'Touch the sky with victory'. The motto of the Indian Air Force is taken from the eleventh chapter of the Gita and is an excerpt from the sermon delivered by Lord Shri Krishna to Arjuna on the battlefield of Kurukshetra during the great war of Mahabharata. Lord Shri Krishna is showing his gigantic form to Arjuna and this gigantic form of the Lord is pervading the sky which is creating fear and lack of self-control in Arjuna's mind. Similarly, the Indian Air Force aims to suppress the enemies by using aerospace power in the defense of the nation.

Important facts about Indian Air Force:

  • The Indian Air Force was started in 1932 AD.
  • Its headquarter is in New Delhi.
  • It is headed by the Chief of the Air Staff.
  • There are also 5 other officers to assist the Chief of the Air Staff at the Headquarters.

There are a total of seven commands in the Air Force, of which there are five fighter commands and two support commands:

Command/Area The headquarters
Eastern area Shillong
Western region New Delhi
Central region Allahabad
South western region Jodhpur
Southern region Thiruvananthapuram
Training command Bangalore
Maintenance command Nagpur

List of Indian Air Force chiefs and their tenure since 1947:

Names of Chiefs/Chiefs of the Indian Air Force Tenure
Air Marshal Sir Thomas Amherst 15 August 1947 to 21 February 1950
Air Marshal Sir Ronald Chapman 22 February 1950 to 9 December 1951
Air Marshal Sir Gerald Gibbs 10 December 1951 to 31 March 1954
Air Marshal S. Mukherjee 1 April 1954 to 8 November 1960
Air Marshal A. M . Engineer 1 December 1960 to 31 July 1964
Air Chief Marshal Arjan Singh 1 August 1964 to 15 July 1969
Air Chief Marshal P. C . Lal 16 July 1969 to 15 January 1973
Air Chief Marshal O. P . Mehra 16 January 1973 to 31 January 1976
Air Chief Marshal H. Mulgaonkar 1 February 1976 to 31 August 1978
Air Chief Marshal I. H. Latif 1 September 1978 to 31 August 1981
Air Chief Marshal Dilbag Singh 1 September 1981 to 3 September 1984
Air Chief Marshal L. M . Katre 4 September 1984 to 1 July 1985
Air Chief Marshal D.A. La Fontaine July 3, 1985 to July 31, 1988
Air Chief Marshal S. K . Mehra 1 August 1988 to 31 July 1991
Air Chief Marshal N. C . Suri 1 August 1991 to 31 July 1993
Air Chief Marshal S. K . Kaul 1st August, 1993 to 31st December, 1995
Air Chief Marshal S. K . Sarin 31 December 1995 to 31 December 1998
Air Chief Marshal A.Y. Tipnis 31st December, 1998 to 31st December, 2001
Air Chief Marshal S. Krishnaswamy 31 December 2001 to 31 December 2004
Air Chief Marshal A. P . Tyagi 31st December, 2004 to 31st March, 2007
Air Chief Marshal F. H. Major March 31, 2007 to May 31, 2009
Air Chief Marshal Pradeep Vasant Nayak 31 May 2009 to 31 July 2011
Air Chief Marshal Norman Anil Kumar Browne 31 July 2011 to 31 December 2013
Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha 31 December 2013 to 31 December 2016
Air Marshal BS Dhanoa 31 December 2016 to 30 September 2019
Air Marshal Rakesh Kumar Singh Bhadauria 30 September 2019 to 30 September 2021
Air Marshal Vivek Ram Chaudhary From 30 September 2021 till now

Read also:

  Last update :  Sat 11 Mar 2023
  Post Views :  19162
  Post Category :  Indian Army Organizations