Name of Famous Indian Missiles

List of India's major missiles:

A missile is a weapon that can be launched and used. In military parlance, a missile, also known as a guided missile or guided rocket, is a guided airborne range weapon capable of self-propelled flight, typically by a jet engine or rocket motor. It is used to intercept distant targets. With its help, explosives can be delivered to targets thousands of kilometers away. Thus, even distant enemy positions can be destroyed in no time. The missile can carry and use warheads ranging from chemical explosives to nuclear warheads.

List of Major Missiles of India:

Name of the missile Type When was the first test conducted
Agni-1 Intermediate Ballistic Missile May 22, 1989
Agni-2 Intermediate Ballistic Missile April 11, 1999
Agni-3 Intermediate Ballistic Missile July 9, 2006 (failed), April 12, 2007 (first successful test)
Earth Surface-to-surface short-range tactical battle field missile February 25, 1989
Trishul Surface to Air Strike Low Level Clean Reaction Short Range Missile June 5, 1989
Snake Surface-to-surface anti-tank missile 29th November, 1991
Sky Multi-target surface-to-air missile August 15, 1990
Weapon Air-to-air missile May 9, 2003
Brahmos Anti-ship super sonic cruise missile June 12, 2001
Shaurya Surface-to-surface ballistic missile November 12, 2008

Important facts related to missiles of India:

  1. According to experts, India has 7 nuclear-capable systems, including two aircraft, four land-based ballistic missiles and one sea-based ballistic missile.
  2. APJ Abdul Kalam is the father of missile system in India.
  3. The Akash missile is a short-range surface-to-air missile indigenously developed by India.
  4. Astra is a beyond visual range air-to-air missile developed by the Defense Research and Development Organization (DRDO), India. It is the first air-to-air missile developed by India.
  5. The Mysore rockets were the first iron-cased rockets successfully deployed for military use.
  6. The Government of India formed a team called the Special Weapons Development Team in 1958 to study guided missile systems.
  7. The Missile Technology Control Regime (then an informal group formed in 1987 by Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States) had decided to restrict access to any technology.
  Last update :  2023-01-10 05:36:29
  Download :  PDF
  Post Views :  2834
  Post Category :  India GK