Major independent institutions of India and their current presidents: Many independent institutions have been established by the Indian Constitution in view of the judicial, democratic and political security in the country. Here is a list of the major independent institutions of India. Generally questions related to major independent institutions of India are asked in competitive examinations. If you are preparing for various competitive exams like: IAS, Teachers, UPSC, PCS, SSC, Bank, MBA and other government jobs, then you must know about the major independent institutions in the country.

Jan Lokpal is also one such independent institution, for which the people's movement is going on till now. Let us know about the important independent institutions (autonomous institutions) of India:-

1. NITI Aayog (Planning Commission of India): NITI Aayog (National Institute for Transforming India) is a new institute set up by the Government of India, which has been replaced by the Planning Commission. A Cabinet resolution giving information regarding this new institute was issued on 1 January 2015. The institute will serve as a think tank of the government and provide directional and policy dynamism. NITI Aayog will provide relevant critical and technical advice to the Government at the Central and State levels on the key policy components. The current chairman of NITI Aayog is Narendra Modi.

2. Election Commission of India: The Election Commission of India is an autonomous and quasi-judicial body. The present Chief Election Commissioner is Rajeev Kumar. The Election Commission of India was established on January 25, 1950. It was formed to elect people's representatives in independent and fairly representative institutions in India.

3. Union Public Service Commission: The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is an institution established by the Constitution of India to conduct examinations for the appointment of officers to the Public Service of the Government of India. Professor Pradeep Kumar Joshi is the present Chairman of the Union Public Service Commission. The first Public Service Commission was established on October 01, 1926. Article 315-323 of the Constitution provides for the constitution of a Federal Public Service Commission and a State Public Service Commission for the States.

4. National Commission for Women (NCW): The National Commission for Women was constituted in January 1992 as a constitutional body. The current chairperson of the National Commission for Women is Rekha Sharma. The first chairman of this commission was Jayanti Patnaik. The work of the Women's Commission is to implement the constitutional interests of women and legal safeguards for them.

5. Central Information Commission: The Government of India established the RTI Act to make the life of its citizens easy, smooth and to make the country fully democratic and government transparency. The current Chief Information Commissioner is Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha. The Central Information Commission was constituted in 2005. Right to Information (RTI) means Right to Information and it has been given the status of a fundamental right under Article 19(1) of the Constitution. Under RTI every citizen has the right to know how the government works.

6. National Commission for Minorities: The Central Government constituted the National Commission for Minorities under the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992. It has been formed to protect the interests of five religious minorities Muslim, Sikh, Christian, Buddhist and Parsi community. The commission consists of a chairman, a vice-chairman and five members who represent the minority community. The present Chairman of National Commission for Minorities is Mr. Ghayorul Hasan. State Minorities Commissions have also been constituted in Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. The offices of these commissions are located in the state capitals.

7. Comptroller and Auditor General of India: Comptroller and Auditor General is commonly known as CAG. The present Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG) G. C. Murmu. He is the 13th CAG of the country. In 1948, the first CAG was V. Narhari Rao. Article 148 of the Indian Constitution provides for the CAG, which examines the income and expenditure of the departments of the Central and State Governments and the institutions controlled by them. This institution brings to light the cases of wastage of public money from time to time.

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Major Institutions of India GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Independent Organizations FAQs:

15th Finance Commission Chairman N.K. Singh is an Indian politician, economist and former Indian Administrative Service officer. He is a senior member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) since March 2014 after serving as the Member of Parliament in the Rajya Sabha (2008–2014) from Bihar for the Janata Dal (United).

The National Human Rights Commission is an autonomous statutory body. It was established on 12 October 1993. It was established under the Protection of Human Rights Act, 1993. Its first chairman was Justice Ranganath Mishra. Presently (2021) Justice Arun Kumar Mishra is holding the post of its current chairman.

Rajiv Kumar became the Vice Chairman of NITI Aayog on 1 September 2017. He was also the chairman of the Atal Innovation Mission aimed at establishing an innovation eco-system in the country. He served in NITI Aayog till 2022.

Vinay Mittal is an Indian civil servant who worked for the Indian Railways Traffic Service. In addition, he was made the chairman of the Union Public Service Commission on 22 January 2018.

Justice Dr. Balbir Singh Chauhan is the 21st Chairman of the Law Commission of India. On March 10, 2016, the Central Government appointed him to this post. Prior to this, he was the chairman of the Cauvery River Water Disputes Tribunal. He has been a judge of the Supreme Court of India from May 2009 to July 2014.

  Last update :  Fri 17 Mar 2023
  Post Views :  10052
  Post Category :  Government Organizations