List of major Atomic Energy Institutes of India:

Nuclear energy in India has a definite and decisive role in the field of Indian electricity generation and supply. Adequate and uninterrupted supply of electricity is essential for the overall development of any nation. Being a developing country, a large part of India's entire electricity needs are met from non-conventional sources as the growing needs cannot be met by conventional sources. India has achieved self-reliance in the field of nuclear science and technology. The credit for this goes to the important efforts initiated by Dr. Homi Bhabha, who envisioned the Indian nuclear program and laid the foundation stone for it.

Establishment of Department of Atomic Energy: Atomic Energy Commission was established in 1948 AD to formulate policies for peaceful use of atomic energy. The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) was established in 1954 to execute these policies. The Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB), formed in 1983, is the regulatory body for nuclear energy in India. Research and development activities are carried out by the Board for Research in Nuclear Science (BRNS).

List of major Atomic Energy Institutes of India:

Atomic Energy Institute Name Place Establishment year
Bhabha Atomic Research Center (BARC) Mumbai (Maharashtra) 1954 AD
Indira Gandhi Center for Atomic Research Kalpakkam (Tamil Nadu) 1971 AD
Raja Ramanna Center for Advanced Technology Indore (Madhya Pradesh) 1984 AD
Directorate of Atomic Minerals Exploration and Research Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh) 1948 AD
Variable Energy Cyclotron Center Kolkata (West Bengal) 1977 AD
Uranium Corporation of India Limited Jadugoda (Jharkhand) 1967 AD
Indian Rare Earths Limited Mumbai (Maharashtra) 1950 AD
Electronics Corporation of India Ltd Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh) 1967 AD
Nuclear Power Corporation of India Ltd Mumbai (Maharashtra) 1987 AD
Institute for plasma research Ahmedabad (Gujarat) 1986 AD
Institute of mathematical sciences Chennai (Tamil Nadu) 1962 AD
Institute of physics Bhubaneswar (Orissa) 1972 AD
Saha institute of nuclear physics Kolkata (West Bengal) 1949 AD
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Mumbai (Maharashtra) 1945 AD

Now practice related questions and see what you learnt?

Atomic Energy Institute GK Questions and Answers 🔗

Read also:

Nuclear Power Plants FAQs:

The first established Atomic Plant in India is the Tarapur Nuclear Plant. Tarapur is a town in the Palghar district of Maharashtra. It is an industrial city. There are four nuclear reactors in India from which electrical power is generated.

The credit for laying the foundation of nuclear program in India goes to Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha, but the contribution of Dr. Raja Ramanna is also no less in this work. Raja Ramanna is also remembered for playing a key role in the country's first successful nuclear test program on May 18, 1974.

Asia's first nuclear reactor is called 'Apsara'. It was formed on August 4, 1956 at the Trombay campus of the Bhabha Atomic Research Center. According to the BARC website, it was formally inaugurated on January 20, 1957, by the then PM Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.

Indira Gandhi Atomic Research Center is one of the major nuclear research centers of India. It was established in 1971 at Kalpakkam, Chennai for research and development of fast breeder technology.

The Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics (SINP) is an institution of basic research and training in the physical and biophysical sciences, located in Bidhannagar, Kolkata, India. The institute is named after the famous Indian physicist Meghnad Saha.

  Last update :  Mon 7 Nov 2022
  Post Views :  11056
  Post Category :  Indian Army Organizations