The Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh is the chief executive of the state of Madhya Pradesh, India. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Madhya Pradesh Assembly, the state governor usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose council of ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Madhya Pradesh's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterShivraj Singh Chauhan
Political partyBharatiya Janata Party
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date23 March 2020
First Chief MinisterPandit Ravi Shankar Shukla

Current Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh 2023

Shivraj Singh Chauhan is the current Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh and senior leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party and is currently a national vice president of the Bharatiya Janata Party and a dedicated worker of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. He became the Chief Minister of the state for the fourth time in place of Kamal Nath on 23 March 2020.

Shivraj became the organization minister of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad in 1977-78. From 1975 to 1980, he was the Joint Minister of Madhya Pradesh of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad. He was the state general secretary of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad from 1980 to 1982 and a member of the National Executive of the Council in 1982-83. Shivraj was the Joint Secretary of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, Madhya Pradesh in 1984-85, youth secretary from 1985 to 1988 and state president of Morcha from 1988 to 1991. Shivraj Singh was first elected to the state assembly from Budhni constituency in 1990.

History of Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh

After the reorganization of Madhya Pradesh on 1 November 1956, 18 people have held the post of Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. Shri Ravi Shankar Shukla became the first Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. The first non-Congress Chief Minister was Govind Narayan Singh, who left the party and led the United Legislative Party government from 1967 to 1969. The Chief Minister who has held the charge of Chief Minister for the shortest period in Madhya Pradesh is Mr. Naresh Chandra, he has been the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for a total of 12 days.

Digvijay Singh of Congress had held the tenure for five years. She was replaced by Uma Bharti of the Bharatiya Janata Party, who became the only woman Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. Shivraj Singh Chouhan has held the post of Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for the longest period, he has been the Chief Minister for 13 consecutive years and 17 days.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Madhya Pradesh (1956-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Madhya Pradesh CM from 1956 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Name of chief ministerTake officePost freePolitical party
Pandit Ravi Shankar Shukla1 November 195631 December 1956Indian National Congress
Bhagwantrao Mandloi1 January 195730 January 1957Indian National Congress
Kailash Nath Katju31 January 195714 March 1957Indian National Congress
Kailash Nath Katju14 March 195711 March 1962Indian National Congress
Bhagwantrao Mandloi12 March 196229 September 1963Indian National Congress
Dwarka Prasad Mishra30 September 19638 March 1967Indian National Congress
Dwarka Prasad Mishra9 March 196729 July 1967Indian National Congress
Govind Narayan Singh30 July 196712 March 1969Indian National Congress
Nareshchandra Singh13 March 196925 March 1969Indian National Congress
Shyamacharan Shukla26 March 196928 January 1972Indian National Congress
Prakash Chandra Sethi29 January 197222 March 1972Indian National Congress
Prakash Chandra Sethi23 March 197222 December 1975Indian National Congress
Shyamacharan Shukla23 December 197529 April 1977Indian National Congress

President's Rule (29 April 1977 to 25 June 1977)

Kailash Chandra Joshi26 June 197717 January 1978Janata Party
Virendra Kumar Saklecha18 January 197819 January 1980Janata Party
Sunderlal Patwa20 January 198017 February 1980Janata Party

President's rule (from 18 February 1980 to 8 June 1980)

Arjun Singh8 June 198010 March 1985Indian National Congress
Arjun Singh11 March 198512 March 1985Indian National Congress
Motilal Vora13 March 198513 February 1988Indian National Congress
Arjun Singh14 February 198824 January 1989Indian National Congress
Motilal Vora25 January 19898 December 1989Indian National Congress
Shyamacharan Shukla9 December 19894 March 1990Indian National Congress
Sunderlal Patwa5 March 199015 December 1992Bharatiya Janata Party

President's Rule (from 16 December 1992 to 6 December 1993)

Digvijay Singh7 December 19931 December 1998Indian National Congress
Digvijay Singh1 December 19988 December 2003Indian National Congress
Uma Bharti8 December 200323 August 2004Bharatiya Janata Party
Babulal Gaur23 August 200429 November 2005Bharatiya Janata Party
Shivraj Singh Chouhan29 November 200516 December 2018Bharatiya Janata Party
Kamal Nath17 December 2018March 2020Indian National Congress
Shivraj Singh Chouhan23 March 2020So farBharatiya Janata Party

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  17088
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States