The Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh is the chief executive of the Indian state of Andhra Pradesh. According to the Constitution of India, the Governor is the legal head of the state, but actual executive authority rests with the Chief Minister. After elections to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly, the state governor usually invites the party with a majority to form the government. The Governor appoints the Chief Minister, whose Council of Ministers is collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly.

Andhra Pradesh's Chief Minister: Quick Facts

Current Chief MinisterY. S. Jagmohan Reddy
Political partyY. S. R. Congress Party (Y.S.R.C.P.)
Term of office5 years
Oath taking date30 May 2019
First Chief MinisterNeelam Sanjiva Reddy

Current Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh 2023

Yeduguri Sandinti Jagan Mohan Reddy is an Indian politician serving as the current Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. He is the founder and president of the Indian political party, YSR Congress Party (YSRCP). Reddy began efforts to take over the political legacy left by his father after his death and began his political career in the Indian National Congress and was elected as the Member of Parliament for Kadapa in 2009. He became the leader of the opposition after YSRCP won Andhra in 2014. Reddy was elected as the 17th Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh on 30 May 2019.

History of Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh was formed on 1 November 1956 from Andhra State. Since 1956, Andhra Pradesh has had 17 Chief Ministers, most of whom are from the Indian National Congress party. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh to hold office for more than thirteen years in multiple terms. Kasu Brahmananda Reddy of the Indian National Congress has the second longest tenure. N Bhaskar Rao has the third longest tenure of the post of minister. The current incumbent is YS Jagan Mohan Reddy of the Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party since 30 May 2019.

Complete List of Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh (1950-2023)

Here is the Latest updated Complete List of Andhra Pradesh CM from 1950 to 2023 with Names, Service Period, and Political Parties Information:

Serial No.Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freeParty/political party
1Velodi Narayan Menon K.26 January 19506 March 1952Indian National Congress
2Dr. Burgula Ramakrishna Rao6 March 195231 October 1956Indian National Congress

Chief Minister of Andhra State:

The State of Andhra (1953–56) consisted of the districts of Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema region, which were separated from Madras State:

Serial No.Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freeParty/political party
1T. Prakasam1 October 195327 March 1955Indian National Congress
2Bezwada Gopal Reddy28 March 19551 November 1956Indian National Congress

Formation of Andhra Pradesh: In 1956, Gulbarga and Aurangabad divisions of Hyderabad State were merged into Mysore State and Bombay State respectively. Hyderabad State, Telangana State merged with Andhra State to form Andhra Pradesh State. On 02 June 2014, a new state was formed by separating Telangana from Andhra Pradesh, which became the 29th state of the country.

YSR Jaganmohan Reddy of Congress Party took oath as the Chief Minister after the 2019 Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections.

List of Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh since 1956 till date:

Serial No.Name of the Chief MinisterTake officePost freeParty/political party
1Neelam Sanjiva Reddy01 November 195611 January 1960Indian National Congress
2Damodaram Sanjeevya11 January 196012 March 1962Indian National Congress
-Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy12 March 196229 February 1964Indian National Congress
3Kasu Brahmananda Reddy29 February 196430 September 1971Indian National Congress
4PV Narasimha Rao30 September 197110 January 1973Indian National Congress

President's rule (up to 10 January 1973 - 10 December 1973)

5Jalgam Vengla Rao10 December 19736 March 1978Indian National Congress
6Mari Chenna Reddy6 March 197811 October 1980Indian National Congress
7Talaguturi Anjaiah11 October 198024 February 1982Indian National Congress
8Bhavanam Venkatarama Reddy24 February 198220 September 1982Indian National Congress
9Kotla Vijay Bhaskar Reddy20 September 19829 January 1983Indian National Congress
10Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao9 January 198316 August 1984Telugu Desam Party
11N. Bhaskar Rao16 August 198416 September 1984Telugu Desam Party
-Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao16 September 19842 December 1989Telugu Desam Party
-Mari Chenna Reddy3 December 198917 December 1990Indian National Congress
12Nedurumalli Janardhan Reddy17 December 19909 October 1992Indian National Congress
-Kotla Vijay Bhaskar Reddy9 October 199212 December 1994Indian National Congress
-Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao12 December 19941 September 1995Telugu Desam Party
13Chandrababu Naidu1 September 199514 May 2004Telugu Desam Party
14Dr. Y. s. Rajasekhara Reddy14 May 20042 September 2009Indian National Congress
15K. Rosaiah3 September 200924 November 2010Indian National Congress
16N. Kiran Kumar Reddy25 November 20101 March 2014Indian National Congress

President's Rule (2 March 2014 - 8 June 2014)

(13)Chandrababu NaiduJune 8, 2014May 30, 2019Telugu Desam Party
(14)Y.S. Jagmohan Reddy30 May 2019So farY. S. R. CP

Read also:

  Last update :  Wed 7 Feb 2024
  Post Views :  23055
  Post Category :  Chief Ministers of Indian States